It’s McCarl On Night Two At Kilgore

Terry McCarl won Friday’s Lone Star Nationals feature at Lone Star Speedway in Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)

KILGORE, Texas — Terry McCarl was on a mission on night two of the second annual Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals at Lone Star Speedway in the KJC Auto Title Loans No. 24.

Gridding the field sixth, McCarl watched early on as Channin Tankersley took off into the early lead from the outside of row one.

Grabbing the race lead from Tankersley on a lap-six restart, the Deanfield Farms No. 24 of McCarl would pull to a half straight advantage before slower traffic brought the field to his back bumper.

Held up on the inside line entering turn one, McCarl would see the lead up for grabs as Tankersley ran to the top of the track. Pulling nearly even with the No. 24, Tankersley would see his night come to an end after contact with the wall rendered the suspension of the Cooper Racing No. 71 useless.

Restarting for a pair of laps, the caution would fly again as Kevin Swindell spun across the track exiting turn four with cars lined up for the hit. Getting on the gas, Swindell avoided catastrophe and was able to restart.

Taking off with fifteen laps to run, McCarl continued to show the way with Blake Hahn holding off several charges from Jeff Swindell. Taking away fourth on the restart, Travis Rilat would begin working on J. Swindell as the leaders raced back into slower traffic before the caution waved again as the No. 11c of Matt Covington spun on the exit of turn four followed by team mate Joe Wood Jr. on lap 26.

Green for the final time, McCarl ran away for the win with Blake Hahn scoring his first podium finish with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV.

After a horrible end to night one of the Lone Star Sprint Nationals, J. Swindell was third with Travis Rilat holding onto the fourth transfer spot into Saturday’s $13,000-to-win feature. Sam Hafertepe Jr. rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Terry McCarl, Blake Hahn, Jeff Swindell, Travis Rilat, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman, Zach Pringle, Christopher Bell, Kevin Swindell, Martin Edwards, Jason Johnson, Danny Wood, Joe Wood Jr., Larry Howery, Dale Wester, Matt Covington, Claud Estes III, Channin Tankersley, Jamie Passmore, John Carney II, Shawn Petersen, John Ricketts, Aaron Reutzel.



Posted by on Oct 13 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!