Jackson Nationals Goes To Brian Brown

Brian Brown along, with fans and crew, celebrate after winning the Jackson Nationals. (ASCS / Rob Kocak)

Brian Brown along, with fans and crew, celebrate after winning the Jackson Nationals. (ASCS / Rob Kocak)

JACKSON, Minn. — The 35th annual Jackson Nationals ended with the 2013 Jackson Spring Nationals champion back in victory lane at Jackson Speedway as Brian Brown earned his third Protect the Harvest A-Feature win of the season.

“I was kind of disappointed last night. I felt like I really let my team down and didn’t get the jump on the start, but that’s one good thing about our team; we win together, we lose together. Nobody on the team was negative,” said Brown.

Brown’s ninth overall Lucas Oil ASCS victory, the Casey’s General Store No. 21 drew the pole in the night’s Protect the Harvest A-Feature; jumping to the point from the start.

Stopping on lap three with the No. 82 of Scott Winters going upside down, Robby Wolfgang and Tyler Drueke were both caught in the accident. All drivers were ok. On the restart, Brown would be challenged briefly for the lead by Tony Bruce Jr. but would quickly move away.

Slowing on lap nine for Seth Bergman who stalled the No. 23 in turn three, Bruce again took a shot for the lead but was again denied.

Racing hard for fourth on lap 12, the red flag was the end result between Jason Johnson and Jeff Swindell as contact by the No. 41 sent Swindell flipping into the fence. Swindell emerged unscathed with official allowing an open red.

Brian Brown again began to pull away with the battle to be in the top five shaping up with Danny Lasoski charging from seventeenth to challenge Jason Johnson as the caution flew for the final time on lap 21 for Gregg Bakker.

Going unchallenged on the restart, Brian Brown ran to victory ahead of Tony Bruce, Jr.

“I’m glad all these came out to enjoy this race and hopefully they have the National Tour back next year,” commented Bruce. “I really thought we were good through the center of turns one, and two, but I didn’t have very much tire left so I couldn’t really chance it. We’ll take a second place and go on.”

Brad Loyet crossed third with Logan Forler taking full advantage of the open red to charge from 18th to fourth. Danny Lasoski followed suit from 17th to fifth.

The finish:

Brian Brown, Tony Bruce Jr., Brad Loyet, Logan Forler, Danny Lasoski, Jack Dover, Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson, Cole Wood, Dustin Morgan, Dusty Zomer, Skyler Prochaska, Bill Boles, Dusty Ballenger, Seth Bergman, Matt Juhl, Gregg Bakker, Brandon Halverson, Jeff Swindell, Mark Dobmeier, Scott Winters, Robby Wolfgang, Tyler Drueke, Brandon Hahn.




Posted by on Sep 1 2013 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!