Johnson Completes $10,000 Sweep

Jason Johnson in victory lane Saturday at Cocopah Speedway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

SOMERTON, Ariz. — For the second time in as many nights, Jason Johnson found himself in victory lane at the Cocopah Speedway with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real, only this time the check was worth $10,000, bringing his weekend winnings to $13,000.

Improvising with a “Harlem Shake” in victory lane, Johnson commented on the final laps of the night’s feature, which saw Lucas Wolfe battling with the MVT No. 41 before slower traffic allowed Johnson some breathing room, “Well you know with 13 to go, my guys told me he [Lucas Wolfe] was all over me.”

“I didn’t have no gap so they signaled go as hard as you can. You’ve got to hit your marks and not slip up. They kept telling me they thought I was a little faster in three and four, but I was just scared to run the top like that and open the bottom up for him to put a big slide job.”

Drawing the pacers position in the night’s 30-lap feature, Johnson immediately took off into the race lead with Logan Forler holding the runner up spot before surrendering the spot to Lucas Wolfe on lap two.

Caution lights blinked on around the Cocopah Speedway on lap six as the No. 57x of Dalten Gabbard rolled to a stop in turn two, eliminating a 2.618-second advantage held by Johnson over Lucas Wolfe.

Returning to speed, Tony Stewart began working on Logan Forler for the fourth spot. After nearly ending upside down on the start after hopping a right rear tire, the Chevrolet Performance No. 14 had fought back from being as far back as eighth on the start.

Mingling with the back of the field on lap 13, racing would again be slowed as the Pettit Oil Company No. 27 of Mitch Olson spun while running eighth on lap 17.

On the restart, Lucas Wolfe assumed the role of predator, stalking the MVT No. 41 back into slower traffic. Working the cushion through turns three and four, the Buffalo Wild Wings No. 82 of Lucas Wolfe ran any line not occupied by Johnson; picking up the most ground through turns one and two but unable to complete the pass at the opposite ends of the Cocopah Speedway despite pulling nearly even with Johnson on several occasions.

With slower traffic playing to his advantage, Johnson raced to victory ahead of Lucas Wolfe and Brady Bacon, who held off the final lap charge of Tony Stewart, to take the final step on the podium by a mere 0.016 seconds at the checkered flag. Seth Bergman climbed from 11th to round out the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Lucas Wolfe, Brady Bacon, Tony Stewart, Seth Bergman, Danny Lasoski, Brian Brown, Logan Forler, Wayne Johnson, Roger Crockett, Johnny Herrera, Henry VanDam, Tony Bruce Jr., Brad Loyet, Dain Naida, Dustin Morgan, Cole Wood, Justyn Cox, Rick Ziehl, Billy Chester III, Mitch Olson, Brandon Hahn, Jeff Swindell, Dalten Gabbard, Shawn Petersen, Lance Norick.



Posted by on Mar 3 2013 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!