Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Honorees

Jason Johnson is joined by his wife, child, and crew as the 2013 Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion.(ASCS/Bryan Hulbert)

Jason Johnson is joined by his wife, child, and crew as the 2013 Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion.(ASCS/Bryan Hulbert)

SOMERTON, Ariz. – The season isn’t over until the checks and trophies are handed out, and $220,000 in checks and nearly $100,000 in contingences was given out to the drivers with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real at the Cocopah Resort and Casino on Sunday.

Taking the lions share at $60,000 Jason Johnson was honored as the 2013 Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion. His fourth title in six years, Jason reflected that his proudest accomplishment has been as an owner, taking the Owners Championship four years running.

Specialty awards included the High/Low Draw. Cole Wood had the lowest average draw on the season at 26.86. Logan Forler had the highest average draw of the season at 41.89. The Ronald Laney Hard Charger Award, which is awarded to the drive who accumulates the most passing points during Heat Race competition, was to Brad Loyet who amassed a total of 3510.5 passing points in 2013.

Philip Dietz was awarded the Lee Maier Mechanic of the Year.

Brodix Rookie of the Year was earned by Cole Wood with 2012 rookie Brad Loyet earned recognition as the Most Improved Driver.

Jeff Swindell was recognized by Kelly Westphal of Wesmar Racing Engines for winning the 2013 ASCS Speedweek which was renamed the Bob Westphal Memorial Speedweek.

Emmett Hahn address the room with highlights of what teams can expect in 2014 included an expanded schedule with several new venues in the works. The ASCS founder also commented on the continued Television coverage provided by MAVTV American Real, saying that live telecasts are in the works for the coming season.

The American Sprint Car Series would like to thank our fans, drivers, crews, and sponsors for their support in 2013 and look forward to the twenty-third year of competition which begins back at the Cocopah Speedway in Somerton, Ariz. on February 28, 2014.

Posted by on Nov 10 2013 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!