Johnson Wings It At Western World

Jason Johnson (center) shares the podium with Brian Brown (left) and Tony Bruce Jr. Friday night at Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park. (Tim Aylwin photo)

PEORIA, Ariz. — Taking his first win since a prelim victory a month ago at the Short Track Nationals, Jason Johnson battled past Brian Brown following a late race caution to grab the win on night two of the 45th FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet.

Working to the green flag, Brown jumped the early advantage before a complete restart was called far as Lance Norick spun exiting turn two, collecting Lucas Wolfe and sending Shawn Petersen flipping for the second time in one night.

The second start saw a single lap completed before Gary Wright slid off the top of turn two and tagged the wall bringing Wright’s night to an end.

Pulling the field around single file for the restart, the FVP / Casey’s General Store No. 21 would begin pulling to a sizable advantage as Justin Henderson worked to hold off the Oil Medics No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr.

Getting the pass on lap four, Bruce soon had his hands full as Johnson worked into the picture. Battling back and forth for a pair of laps, Johnson would wheel the MVT No. 41 into the runnerup spot on lap 10.

With slower traffic light around the leader, Jason Johnson would begin running down a nearly 2.5-second disadvantage. With both drivers working top to bottom on the Canyon Speedway Park, Johnson would pull to within a half second of Brown with elven laps to run.

Completing lap 15, the fight was on for the race lead. As the field worked to nine laps to go however, the caution lights blinked on as Justin Henderson rolled to a stop in turn four.

Knowing Johnson was on his back bumper, Brown began running defense. Protecting the bottom line, Brown fought valiantly, but Johnson made the winning pass on the 20th circuit. B

rian Brown crossed second with Tony Bruce Jr. taking the last podium step. Jumping behind the wheel of the Minks Motorsports No. 1, Christopher Bell ran to a fourth place finish with Jeff Swindell completing the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Brian Brown, Tony Bruce Jr., Christopher Bell, Jeff Swindell, Johnny Herrera, Seth Bergman, Danny Lasoski, Cole Wood, Rick Ziehl, Mike Rux Jr., Bud Goodwin, Joshua Hodges, Justin Henderson, Rico Abreu, Gary Wright, Lance Norick, Lucas Wolfe, Shawn Petersen.


Posted by on Nov 17 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!