Lone Star Nationals Drawing Huge Car Count

TULSA, Okla. – The combined showing of ASCS and RACESAVER 305 Sprint Cars has surpassed the century mark for the 2nd running or the Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals at the Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas.

Currently the $13,000 to win ASCS event has 50 drivers pre-entered from 13 states and Canada. Among the drivers entered is Shane Stewart. Taking the win in the Paul Silva No. 57 in the Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals inaugural event, the Bixby, Oklahoma driver will be behind the wheel of the Gaerte Engines No. 3g for this year’s event.

According to a press from event promoter Darin Short, ASCS qualifying nights (Thursday and Friday) will feature a 30 lap $2,000 to win feature event each night. Saturday’s championship event will be 40 laps in distance with a $13,000 prize awaiting the winner.

For the RACESAVER 305 Sprint Cars, 51 drivers from 5 states (LA, NJ, NM, OK, TX) have entered the $2,200 to win event including 2011 event winner Kyle McCutcheon who will be piloting the Graves Motorsports No. 12m in this year’s edition. RACESAVER 305 Sprint Cars will run 20 lap qualifying features on Thursday and Friday with a 30 lap championship A-Main on Saturday.

The top four drivers from Thursday and Friday’s ASCS and RACESAVER 305 Sprint Car qualifying A-Main will be locked into the Saturday’s $13,000 to win feature however drivers have the option to race both Thursday and Friday to pick up some extra cash.

This year’s Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals is the 50th, 51st, and 52nd dates on the ASCS National schedule. The Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals is a non-point special event for ASCS.

In the 17 events that have been held at the Lone Star Speedway with the American Sprint Car Series, 14 different drivers have victories. Gary Wright, Danny Wood, and Wayne Johnson are the only drivers with multiple victories with two each. Alan Payne, Daryn Pittman, Garry Lee Maier, Jason Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Larry Neighbors, Matt Covington, Michael Dupuy, Mike Ward, Shane Stewart, and Tim Crawley each have a single victory.

Admission for the Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals is $15 on October 11th and October 12th and $20 on October 13th. A three day Grandstand pass for $40 will be available at the gate on October 11th.

Posted by on Oct 9 2012 Filed under ASCS, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!