Other Midgets

39 Races For POWRi Midget Series

Danny Stratton battles Brett Anderson during POWRi National Midget Series competition at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway. (Mark Funderburk Photo)

MILLSTADT, Ill. — The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series has scheduled an all-time high 39 events in Illinois, Missouri, Wisconsin and Indiana for its ninth season.

The season opens March 23 at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., and concludes Oct. 3-5 with the USAC co-sanctioned Gold Crown Midget Nationals at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill.

POWRi and USAC will also co-sanction the Hut 100, which moves to Tri-City Speedway May 31, the Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway Grand Prix April 12-13 and a doubleheader at Belle-Clair July 5-6. POWRi, USAC and the Badger Midget Auto Racing Ass’n will tri-sanction events June 23 and Aug. 18 at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis.

POWRi’s inaugural Illinois Midget Week, a championship within the season championship, will be run June 6 at Jacksonville Speedway, June 7 at Lincoln Speedway, June 8 at Macon Speedway and June 9 at Vermillion County Speedway in Danville. The four events will be co-sanctioned by Badger.

POWRi and Badger will co- or tri-sanction 17 events including seven at Angell Park.

“We’ve been able to strengthen Midget events in the Midwest by taking advantage of co-sanction opportunities with USAC and Badger,” POWRi co-founder Kenny Brown said. “We all see this as in the best interest of the sport, to bring the best drivers and teams together even though we run our own championships.

“We became the promoter at Angell Park this season and we’ve increased our events there to seven. We’re running six times at Belle-Clair and five times Macon, who of our traditional homes, and have five events at Tri-City. We’ve expanded our schedule without adding travel time or cost to our teams by keeping it in four central Midwestern states. We were forced to eliminate some events that we very much enjoyed, but with 39 events in a more compact geographic range, it was best for our series.”

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Schedule

March 23 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.

April 12-13 Kokomo Speedway Kokomo, Ind.

April 26 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill.

April 27 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.

May 3 Valley Speedway Grain Valley, Mo.

May 4 Lucas Oil Speedway Wheatland, Mo.

May 17 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.

May 18 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.

May 25-26 Angell Park Speedway Sun Prairie, Wis.

May 31 Tri-City Speedway Granite City, Ill.

June 6 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill.

June 7 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.

June 8 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.

June 9 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, Ill.

June 23 Angell Park Speedway Sun Prairie, Wis.

June 28 Bloomington Speedway Bloomington, Ind.

June 29 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.

July 5-6 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.

July 13 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, Wis.

July 14 Angell Park Speedway Sun Prairie, Wis.

July 25 Tri-City Speedway Granite City, Ill.

July 26 U.S. 36 Raceway Cameron, Mo.;

July 27 Valley Speedway Grain Valley, Mo.

Aug. 11 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.

Aug. 16 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.

Aug. 17 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.

Aug. 18 Angell Park Speedway Sun Prairie, Wis.

Aug. 31-Sept. 1 Angell Park Speedway Sun Prairie, Wis.

Sept. 13 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill.

Sept. 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.

Sept. 21 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.

Sept. 28 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.

Oct. 3-5 Tri-City Speedway Granite City, Ill.



Posted by on Jan 4 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!