Latest Headlines

Bell Is Macon Midget Mover

It was Bell’s second victory of the season in POWRi Midgets and he also has five wins in the Honda USAC National Midgets in his first year driving for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports.

“This (Macon) is my favorite track and it’s never treated me well until tonight,” Bell said. “I like it because it’s so small and you always get a nice cushion.”

Daum, the POWRi Midget championship leader by 110 points over Andrew Felker, finished second for the fourth time in past nine races. He also has a victory in that span.

“It’s second and it sucks, but we’re in a points race and it’s always in the back of your mind,” the 22-year-old said. “I wasn’t going to try anything too crazy. If Chris was going to give it to us, I was going to take it. He kept changing his line in turns three and four and was getting thrown over the cushion.”

Thomas passed Nathan Benson in traffic on the 10th lap and fended off a fierce challenge by Aaron Andruskevitch in the closing laps. Benson finished third.

“Aaron had me by a nose on the back straight with a couple of laps to go, but I stayed on top and was full throttle in turns one and two and took off from there,” the 15-year-old from Fairland, Ind., said. “The rubber was so thick up right on top.”

It was the best POWRi finish of the season for Andruskevitch.

“It feels great to run and battle with Cale and Nathan, the guys who have been running at the front,” Andruskevitch said. “We started eighth and I knew we’d be able to run well in traffic. It really helped us.”

Benson remains in second place in the championship, 140 points behind Thomas with 13 of 19 events completed.

“We should have won this race,” Benson said. “I feel we had the faster car.”

Thomas has two wins and a second place in three starts at Macon this year.

“Macon is starting to be good for me,” Thomas said. “I love this place. It’s the most fun track we run. The midgets run before us and build a nice cushion for us to run on top.”

The finish:

Chris Bell, Zach Daum, Jerry Coons Jr., Garrett Aitken, Brad Kuhn, Rico Abreu, Andrew Felker, Parker Price-Miller, Tanner Thorson, Tyler Thomas, Daniel Robinson, Austin Brown, Gary Taylor, Chett Gehrke, Cameron King, Seth Motsinger, Daniel Adler, Jake Blackhurst, Jake Neuman, Dalton Camfield, Derrick Myers, Terry Babb.



Posted by on Aug 18 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!