Other Midgets

Bell Leads Kunz Sweep At Jacksonville

Christopher Bell (71) races under Tyler Thomas Friday at Jacksonville Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

Christopher Bell (71) races under Tyler Thomas Friday at Jacksonville Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. – Christopher Bell held off repeated challenges from his fellow Keith Kunz Motorsports teammates Rico Abreu and Tanner Thorson to take home the victory at the semi-banked, quarter-mile Jacksonville Speedway in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets Series on Friday.

Joe B. Miller used lap traffic to keep second-place finisher Scott Sawyer at bay long enough to win his first POWRi Speedway Motors Outlaw Micro Series feature of 2014.

Bell started on the outside front row, but it would be his Keith Kunz Motorsports teammate and pole sitter Thorson who would take the point at the drop of the green flag with a commanding lead. Following two yellows Thorson would lead Abreu, Tyler Thomas, Bell, and Alex Bright into heavy lap traffic until Brandon Waelti’s nasty flip brought out by the only red of the feature, halting the battle.

After the red, Bell would overcome Thomas and the trio of Thorson, Abreu, and Bell driving Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports’ Toyota-powered Bullets would engage in a tight battle filled with thrilling slide jobs and lap cars in the mix.

“On the restart, Rico slid me so I knew I had to step it up, I knew my teammate was behind me,” said Thorson.

In the mix of Thorson and Abreu’s battle, Bell was able to sneak by.

“We got racing in traffic and I tried getting Tanner (Thorson) for the lead a few times and Christopher [Bell] snuck by,” Abreu said.

In the end, it would be Bell taking the victory, followed to the line by Abreu and Thorson, making this the second time Keith Kunz Motorsports has swept the podium.

“It was a really fun race,” explained Bell. “It’s definitely an accomplishment for Keith Kunz Motorsports. Night in and night out we’re always three of the best cars. It really is cool to be able to run for this team.”

Driving his Speed Shack Performance-powered Hyper Chassis, Joe B. Miller was able to capitalize on Aaron Andruskevitch’s misfortune and craftily held off the Engler-injected Sawyer Chassis piloted by Sawyer Chassis’ own Scott Sawyer to take home his first POWRi Speedway Motors Outlaw Micro Series win of 2014.

“We had a good run, just not enough tonight for Joe B.,” said Sawyer. “It is a very tough series and we like coming to the POWRi races. They put on a good show, lots of good competition.”

Miller inherited the lead three laps in after current race leader Aaron Andruskevitch threw a chain on the restart, ending his night and bid for the win.

“The plan was to get up front and run with them,” said Miller. “Aaron took off really well and had a chain break. It sucks to win one like that, but we’ll take it.”

The finish:

Christopher Bell, Rico Abreu, Tanner Thorson, Tyler Thomas, Nick Knepper, Alex Bright, Zach Daum, Daniel Adler, Parker Price-Miller, Daniel Robinson, Danny Stratton, Terry Babb, Colten Cottle, Jake Blackhurst, Derek Holmwood, Dereck King, Scott Hatton, Chet Gehrke, Darren Hagen, David Gough, Brandon Waelti, Andrew Felker, Ronnie Gardner.

Posted by on Apr 26 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!