Other Midgets

Bell Rings Again At Port City

Christopher Bell takes his second checkered flag in as many nights at Oklahoma's Port City Raceway. (Boyd Adams photo)

Christopher Bell takes his second checkered flag in as many nights at Oklahoma’s Port City Raceway. (Boyd Adams photo)

TULSA, Okla. — Utilizing the same high line as the previous night at Port City Raceway, Christopher Bell took the lead from Chris Andrews and raced unchallenged for the remainder of the 40-lap feature to take home his sixth Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget victory and second in as many nights.

At the green flag, Andrews took the lead from the pole. But Bell rode the rim of the eighth-mile dirt track to slip past Andrews.

With fellow Keith Kunz Motorsports teammate, Tanner Thorson, in tow, Bell romped through traffic until the yellow flag waved for the stalled car of Austin Brown.

When racing resumed, Bell switched to the bottom lane in his Keith Kunz/ Curb- Agajanian Motorsports’ Bullet-Toyota and continued to relentlessly pick-off lapped traffic until the checkered flag.

“We had a really good night,” explained Bell. “We had a little bit better luck at the pill draw, drew a little bit further back and were able to get some passing points. We ended up winning our heat race and that put us up front for the feature.”

Thorson finished second.

“We started third, just held on and followed Bell for a few laps and then got into lap traffic,” explained Thorson. “I wanted to get a podium. I can’t thank my sponsors enough for all that they do.”

Coming from the 11th place starting spot, Brady Bacon completed the podium.

“Eleventh to third is pretty good,” Bacon said. “I wish we would have started a little more to the front and had a chance to win.”

Reigning POWRi champion Zach Daum finished fourth with World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion Daryn Pittman flying back from California to finish fifth.

The finish:

Christopher Bell, Tanner Thorson, Brady Bacon, Zach Daum, Daryn Pittman, Rico Abreu, Chris Andrews, Matt Sherrell, Colten Cottle, Tyler Thomas, Alex Sewell, Spencer Bayston, Darren Hagen, Jonathan Beason, Ty Hulsey, Cody Wood, Daniel Robinson, Justin Peck, Parker Price-Miller, Jacob Patton, Cody Brewer, Austin Brown.



Posted by on Mar 24 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!