Other Midgets

Chili Bowl Kicks Off Tuesday

Despite minor damage in his heat race, Kevin Swindell (39) raced his way to victory lane on the second night of the Chili Bowl Nationals and a transfer into Saturday's championship feature. (John DaDalt Photo)

Despite minor damage in his heat race, Kevin Swindell (39) raced his way to victory lane on the second night of the Chili Bowl Nationals in 2011. Shown, racing Cole Whitt, Swindell then went on to win Saturday's feature for the second straight season. (John DaDalt Photo)

TULSA, Okla. — The Chili Bowl Nationals has long been known as a gathering place of the best of the best from all forms of racing, from the upper echelons of the sport to the grassroots level.

And the 26th edition of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals set for next Tuesday through Saturday at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway is no exception with NASCAR champions Tony Stewart and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., headlining an impressive list of 2011 series champions.

While Stewart and Stenhouse took titles under National television spotlights, champions from all variety of sprint car and midget series as well as one the nation’s premier Late Model series will be on hand as well.

Coming off his third NASCAR Sprint Cup title, Stewart returns to the Chili Bowl for the first time since 2008 in search of his third Chili Bowl triumph.

Stenhouse, who made the cut for his second Chili Bowl championship finale last January, went on to capture his first championship at the next level by taking the top spot with the NASCAR Nationwide series.

While the Chili Bowl is teeming with open wheel aces from the sprint car and midget ranks that Stewart and Stenhouse climbed, Rick Eckert represents the popular late model racers. Eckert makes his fifth Chili Bowl appearance and first since 2010 after capturing the World of Outlaws Late Model championship in 2011.

Among the open wheelers, at least three drivers captured multiple championships in 2011 including Levi Jones, Brad Loyet and Brady Short.

Jones captured both the USAC Sprint Car and USAC Silver Crown championships in 2011 and takes aim at his first Chili Bowl finale since 2009.

Loyet added his third POWRi Midget championship in 2011 while also capturing the ASCS Warrior Region title in his rookie year of Sprint Car competition. Spearheading the potent six-car Loyet Motorsports stable, Loyet guns for his fourth consecutive Chili Bowl championship main event.

Short, a part of the A.J. Felker stable, tries for his first Chili Bowl finale after earning the MSCS (Non-Wing Sprint Car) and Bloomington Speedway titles in 2011.

One champion actually landed a ride for the Chili Bowl by earning his title, as the Midwest Open Wheel Association fields an entry for Jerrod Hull as part of his championship package with the Illinois-based winged Sprint Car series.

With countless champions from previous years throughout the QuikTrip Center, champions from 2011 include the following:

Bryan Clauson – USAC Midgets

Shane Cottle – Kokomo Speedway (Non-Wing Sprint Cars)

Dave Darland – King of Indiana Sprint Series (Non-Wing Sprint Cars)

Rick Eckert – World of Outlaw Late Models

Taylor Lynn Ferns – USAC Mopar D1 Midgets

Blake Hahn – ASCS2 Outlaw Micro Sprints

Jerrod Hull – Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA)

C.J. Johnson – NCRA (Winged Sprint Cars)

Levi Jones – USAC Sprint Cars and USAC Silver Crown

Brad Kuhn – BMARA Midgets

Cory Kruseman – USAC Western States Midgets

Brad Loyet – ASCS Warrior Region (winged Sprint Cars) and POWRi Midgets

Brady Short – MSCS and Bloomington Speedway (Non-Wing Sprint Cars)

Mike Spencer – USAC-CRA (Non-Wing Sprint Cars)

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. – NASCAR Nationwide

Tony Stewart – NASCAR Sprint Cup

Richard VanderWeerd – USAC West Coast 360 Sprint Cars (Non-Wing)

Matt Westfall – Waynesfield Raceway Park (Non-Wing Sprint Cars)

Currently, there are 261 entries for next week’s Chili Bowl Nationals representing 31 states as well as Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Finland.

Following Monday’s practice session, four nights of qualifying action on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday will set Saturday’s feature grids, with the top three finishers from each night locking into Saturday’s 50-lap championship “A” Main.

Tuesday’s card will also include the Fourth Annual Vacuworx International Race of Champions (VIROC IV).


Posted by on Jan 8 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!