Other Midgets

Coons Claims Norm Nelson Classic

Jerry Coons Jr. celebrates after winning Norm Nelson Classic Sunday at Angell Park Speedway. (Jeff Arns Photo)

Jerry Coons Jr. celebrates after winning Norm Nelson Classic Sunday at Angell Park Speedway. (Jeff Arns Photo)

SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. – Jerry Coons Jr. captured Sunday night’s inaugural Norm Nelson Classic 30-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series feature at Angell Park Speedway.

The victory for Coons was his 27th career feature victory at the track, eighth on the track’s all-time win list.

Pole sitter Kurt Mayhew paced the initial lap of the event, before Robbie Ray took the lead on the second lap. One lap later Coons moved into second position. Coons passed Ray for the lead on the next lap on the backstretch, and began increasing his advantage over Ray.

Coons’ Hans Lein Racing teammate Billy Balog moved into second place on lap seven. Coons saw his three second lead over Balog erased, when a caution appeared on lap 11 for a stalled car. Balog stayed on Coons rear bumper on the restart and pulled into the lead as the pair crossed the start/finish line on lap 15, Coons regained the lead before the lap was completed. A caution with ten laps remaining bunched up the field.

On the restart Coons jumped to a two-car length lead. The final few laps saw positions behind the lead pair change several times in a tightly group field of cars. Coons driving the Hans Lein owned DRC/Stanton SR-11 No. 2 finished .083 seconds ahead of Balog. Ray, Mayhew, and David Gough completed top five.

“It’s always great to get a victory here, the car was perfect on both the top and bottom groves,” said Coons.

Matt Paderta took the lead from Chad Bogar in the final ten-yards to capture his fifth Badger 600 Micro feature of the season. The margin of victory .074 of a second, the closest in the four-year history of the series.

The pair exchanged the lead four times in the 20-lap event, with Paderta driving under Bogar exiting turn four on the final lap for the winning pass. Will Gerrits, Norm Ehrke and Tory Strauss completed the top five.

The finish:

Jerry Coons, Jr., Billy Balog, Robbie Ray, Kurt Mayhew, David Gough, Eric Johnson, Aaron Schuck, Buddy Luebke, Scott Hatton, Kevin Olson, Dan Smith, Mike Stroik, David Budres, Daniel Robinson, Andrew Felker, Katlynn Lehr, Brandon Waelti.

Posted by on Jul 21 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!