Other Midgets

Coons Increases NMDOTY Point Lead

Jerry Coons, Jr. is closing in on his second National Midget Driver of the Year championship. (Jeff Arns Photo)

PEORIA, Ariz. – Jerry Coons Jr. increased his lead in the National Midget Driver of the Year Championship, despite finishing 10th in The Western Classic USAC Mopar National Midget event at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday Night.

Coons, the 2007 NMDOTY Champion, now holds a 45-point lead over 2012 USAC Mopar National Midget Series champion Darren Hagen.

Two-time NMDOTY Champion Brad Kuhn trails by 58 points in third place. Three-time defending NMODTY Champion Bryan Clauson remains in mathematical contention in fourth place.

A total of 160 points are available in the season ending 72nd annual Turkey Night Grand Prix at Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway on Nov. 22. In car owner points, Kunz-Curb-Agajanian’s No. 67 has clinched the Car Owners Championship.

The top 10 drivers and top three car owners along with Manufacturers Champions and Rookie of the Year will receive their point fund checks and trophies in the annual ceremony held during the final night of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals on Jan. 12, 2013.

Posted by on Nov 12 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!