Other Midgets

Dominant Larson Conquers Jacksonville

Kyle Larson

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — Kyle Larson drove to victory in his fourth straight start in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and Mike Dicely took his third career win in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series to open POWRi Racing’s four-events-in-four-nights Speed Week on Thursday at Jacksonville Speedway.

Larson led all 30 laps in Keith Kunz Motorsports’ Toyota-powered Bullet to take the checkered flag by six car lengths over Darren Hagen, but it wasn’t without an anxious moment. Exiting turn four on the 15th lap, Larson bounced off a lapped car that had spun. The 20-year-old from Elk Grove, Calif., was a quarter lap ahead and was able to keep the lead when the race slowed for caution.

“I plowed into the car,” Larson said. “I hurt my car pretty bad, it was bouncing around and tough to drive. But the car was still good even with bent parts. I hadn’t driven a Midget in a while and it’s always a lot of fun to race in a Midget with POWRi.”

Larson triumphed over a 49-car field of outstanding talent and accomplishments. Hagen was the USAC Honda National Champion a year ago and third-place finisher Brad Kuhn of Avon, Ind., is a two-time POWRi National Midget champion.

Others in the feature included multi-time New Zealand and Australian Midget champion Michael Pickens, who finished seventh, USAC Triple Crown winner Jerry Coons Jr., who finished eighth, and NASCAR Nationwide regular Justin Allgaier, who finished 18th.

Hagen was disappointed with second.

“The team gave me a better car than the drive I gave them,” the 26-year-old from Riverside, Calif., said. “Or Larson was just better tonight.”

The 48-year-old Dicely passed 2012 POWRi Outlaw Micro champion Joe B. Miller on the second lap and led to the rest of the way to win by three car lengths. Nathan Benson was third.

The finish:

Kyle Larson, Darren Hagen, Brad Kuhn, Chris Bell, Austin Brown, Rico Abreu, Michael Pickens, Jerry Coons Jr., Andrew Felker, Jake Blackhurst, Terry Babb, Alex Bright, Danny Stratton, Tyler Thomas, Zach Daum, Casey Shuman, Tanner Thorson, Justin Allgaier, Brad Hosen, Seth Motsinger, Brandon Waelti, Colten Cottle, Justin Peck.



Posted by on Jun 7 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!