Other Midgets

First 105 Chili Bowl Entries Unveiled

Darren Hagen (3) tries to move below a pair of cars during B Main action as part of the 2013 Chili Bowl finale in Tulsa, Okla. (Keenan Wright Photo)

Darren Hagen (3) tries to move below a pair of cars during B Main action as part of the 2013 Chili Bowl finale in Tulsa, Okla. (Keenan Wright Photo)

TULSA, Okla. — Unveiled at 105 entries, the first pool of Chili Bowl Nationals competitors has been released with drivers representing 79 municipalities from 20 states and two countries.

Among the names entered for the Jan. 14-18 event, 21 have competed in Saturday’s championship feature, including 2013 USAC Champion; Bryan Clauson who will pilot the Dooling No. 63 as team mate to New Zeland’s Michael Pickens.

Clauson, with five Chili Bowl appearances to his credit, tallied 25 victories in 2013, achieved his best finish in the Saturday “A” Feature in 2008, finishing fourth.

Pickens has four starts to his credit in the Chili Bowl. A third in 2011 highlight’s the “Kiwi’s” record.

Daryn Pittman, who topped the Outlaws in 2013 for the first time, will again pilot the Bob Hurley Ford No. 21.

Topping the drivers entered so far with the most feature starts is J.J. Yeley. Seven times the Phoenix, Ariz. driver has taken the green with a pair of podium finishes, third in 2004 bettering to a runner up in 2007. Three top five’s and four top ten appearances complete Yeley’s Chili Bowl résumé.

P.J Jones has the longest history of drivers entered so far. Making his first Chili Bowl in 1994, the closest first time feature starters among drivers entered is J.J. Yeley, Matt Westfall, and Daryn Pittman who made the call in 1999.

So far, 20 drivers will seek the title of Rookie of the Year with Oklahoma and California providing the largest number of hopefuls. Elk Grove Ford Motorsports has entered a trio of Chili Bowl Rookies. Cole Wood, who capped off his 2013 season as Rookie of the Year in ASCS Nationals competition leads the team of first timers into the Chili Bowl, including Dominic Scelzi, son of four-time NHRA World Champion Gary Scelzi, and Elk Grove’s Chase Johnson.

The complete list of entries for the 2014 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire can be found at http://www.chilibowl.com/entries/manual.aspx.

Posted by on Dec 4 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!