Other Midgets

Hagen Hustles To Quincy Score

Darren Hagen celebrates his victory in Thursday's Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series feature at Quincy Raceways. (The Wheatley Collection Photo)

Darren Hagen celebrates his victory in Thursday’s Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series feature at Quincy Raceways. (The Wheatley Collection Photo)

QUINCY, Ill. — Darren Hagen came from fifth-starting position to take his second POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series win of the season to kick of Illinois Speed Week Thursday night at Quincy Raceway.

Polesitter Michael Pickens took command at the drop of the green flag, while Hagen would begin to work his way towards the front until the caution for the spun car of Garret Aitken slowed his charge. Piloting the RFMS owned-DRC Chassis, Pickens would be slid by Tyler Thomas entering turn one on the restart, but Pickens would return the favor in turn three, resulting in Thomas sliding over the banking and off the track bringing out the third caution.

When racing resumed, second place driver Brad Mosen battled Hagen. Hagen’s chase after Mosen would be slowed when Andy Malpocker spun after making contact with another car in turns three and four. Following the caution, green flag racing would be short lived as Mosen brought out the first red flag of the feature upon making contact with one of the infield tires exiting turn four and flipping his race car, collecting Terry Babb, Jason McDougal, Jacob Patton and Nick Bailey.

Upon inheriting second, Hagen challenged Pickens on the restart with both drivers using every bit of the ragged-edged cushion in turns three and four. As Pickens and Hagen began to encounter lap traffic, Hagen took point and never looked back.

As Hagen, Pickens, and Zach Daum began to lap cars, Jason McDougal pushed off the edge of the track in turn three and flipped.

When racing resumed, Hagen pulled away while Tanner Thorson, driving a RFMS-owned DRC would battle teammate Pickens for second. The duo made contact in turns one and two, resulting in Pickens coming to an abrupt halt.

When racing resumed, Hagen led the field to the checkered flag, followed by Tanner Thorson and Zach Daum.

“I’ve got to give props to my crew chief,” said Hagen. “This guy’s one of the best in the country; and to the rest of my team as well. I can’t thank Great Clips, Shane Hmiel and the rest of my sponsors enough.”

Driving his Metric Cycles, Engler-injected, Sawyer Chassis, Frank Flud battled polesitter Chris Openshaw from the green flag to take home his first POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series victory.

“These guys are top caliber,” said Flud. “I know we run with them at the shootout, but the shootout is a different animal. I wanted to come here and know that I could run with anybody. Scott Sawyer’s happy. Mike Ross is happy. I know they’re both smiling and I’m smiling.”

The finish:

Darren Hagen, Tanner Thorson, Zach Daum, Andrew Felker, Austin Brown, Parker Price-Miller, Tyler Thomas, Jake Blackhurst, Chett Gehrke, Seth Motsinger, Spencer Bayston, Ryan Criswell, Terry Babb, Garrett Aitken, Daniel Robinson, Colten Cottle, Andy Malpocker, Jacob Patton, Nick Bailey, Michael Pickens, Jake Neuman, Jason McDougal, Brad Mosen.


Posted by on Jun 6 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!