Other Midgets

Larson’s King Of Belleville High Banks

Kyle Larson (67) glides under Bryan Clauson to win the Belleville Midget Nationals Saturday night at the Belleville (Kan.) High Banks. (Ken Simon photo)

BELLEVILLE, Kan. — Kyle Larson scored a dramatic victory winning the 34th annual RevHoney Belleville Midget Nationals Saturday night at the Belleville High Banks.

Bryan Clauson, trying to win a record third straight victory in the event, jumped into the lead at the start, followed by Larson. The pair pulled away from the field, when the caution was displayed on lap six, when Mario Clouser stalled. Clauson pulled away from the field again on the restart and held a one-second lead over Larson on lap 10.

Clauson began lapping the tail of the field four laps, later increasing his advantage over Larson. Clauson struggled with lapped traffic the next five circuits allowing Larson to pull within a car length at the midway point.

The pair continued to lap cars, while Clauson maintained his one-car length advantage. On lap 27, Larson pulled even with Clauson, but was unable to make the pass for the lead. Two-time Champion Jerry Coons, Jr. who started tenth worked his way through the field and was running third.

With 10 laps, remaining the pair lapped up to fifth place. Larson finally made the pass for the lead exiting turn four with six laps remaining.

Larson pulled to a five-car advantage and appeared headed for the victory. Seventh place running C. J. Johnson hit the wall and flipped landing outside the track on the final lap. Johnson escaped injury.

The accident set up a one-lap shootout with Larson leading Clauson, Coons, Bobby East and Brad Kuhn.

Clauson suffered engine problems coming down for the restart and retired. Larson, driving the Keith Kunz Motorsports owned Bullet/Toyota No. 67, was flawless and finished three car lengths ahead of Coons. East, Kuhn and Clauson.

“This is just a fabulous victory, Keith and the crew had the car perfect, I never saw this place before coming here to race Friday,” commented Larson, who collected $12,500 for the victory.

The finish:

Kyle Larson, Jerry Coons, Jr., Bobby East, Brad Kuhn, Bryan Clauson, Brad Loyet, Caleb Armstrong, Josh Pelkey, Dalton Armstrong, Danny Sheridan, Jeff Stasa, Zach Daum, C.J. Johnson, Darren Hagen, Levi Roberts, Terry Goodwin, Dave Darland, Cody Brewer, Todd Plemons, Mario Clouser, Chet Gehrke, Patrick Stasa, Garrett Hood, Ryan Boyer.



Posted by on Aug 7 2011 Filed under Featured, Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!