Other Midgets

Sesley Completes Gambler’s Classic Sweep

Anthony Sesley celebrates after sweeping the Gambler's Classic indoor three-quarter midget events at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J., on Saturday. (Bob Yuko Photo)

Anthony Sesley celebrates after sweeping the Gambler’s Classic indoor three-quarter midget events at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J., on Saturday. (Bob Yuko Photo)

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. – Anthony Sesely’s domination of Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City continued Saturday night when Sesely powered to a convincing victory in the climatic NAPA Know How Gambler’s Classic 40-lap three-quarter midget main event.

It was Sesely’s second straight win in the prestigious race and his third straight inside Boardwalk Hall.

“This is unbelievable,” Sesely said. “It is what racing is all about.”

Sesely led all 40 of the laps after drawing the pole position, a draw earned as one of the previous night’s top eight feature finishers, a race he also won.

Brett Michalski ran second initially before Matt Janisch moved up. A succession of cautions shuffled the running order. Mike Iles emerged as the runner-up through the halfway mark but back in the pack, Lou Cicconi Jr. and Mike Lichty, two drivers who had been fast the previous night as well but had unsatisfactory results, were working their ways forward.

As the race progressed, Lichty got by Cicconi for second spot with five laps to go and held off a return challenge to preserve the position. The final 16 laps of the race ran off non-stop and this allowed hard charging Shawn Nye to finish up fourth. Iles slipped to fifth.

Anthony Colandro passed Douglas Stearly on the last lap after wild side by side battle saw Stearly spin off turn two. Jonathan Cash moved to second and then held off a trio of New Englanders in D.J. Shaw, Mike Perry and Glen Meisenhelder.

In the 25-lap Snyder’s-Lance Slingshot feature, Simon Egan moved into first place after Ben Whitaker, who led the first 14 laps after starting from the pole position, suddenly slowed and pulled out of the race with mechanical problems. Egan had started back in 16th position.

Joe Kata, gridded 22nd at the start, moved by Tyler Johnston on the twenty second lap to claim a fast closing second to Egan. Kata settled for third with Tom Arntz fourth and Matt Stangle completed the top five.

The $1,500 win for Egan was his second at Boardwalk Hall and the fourth for the 2001 Slingshot nicknamed ‘Old Faithful’ by its owner Randy Smith. Randy’s son Ryan also won twice in the No. 55 car inside Boardwalk Hall.

The finish:

Anthony Sesely, Mike Lichty, Lou Cicconi Jr., Andrew Nye, Mike Iles, Andy Jamkowiak, Jimmy Blewett, Zane Zeiner, Matt Janisch, Pat Bealer, Rob Neely, Randy Cabral, Glen Reen, Rob Vivona, Erick Rudolph, Brett Michalski, Shawn Nye, Chad Jones, Mack DeMan, Jonathan Reid, Rowan Pennink, Matt Roselli, Earl Paules, Donny Lia, Joey Payne, Ted Christopher.

Posted by on Jan 26 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!