Other Sprint Cars

Allard Banks 20Gs For Fourth Dirt Cup Title

ALGER, Wash. — Cementing his place in the record books at Skagit Speedway, Jonathan Allard led all 40 laps en route to his fourth Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup title Saturday night.

With all the points earned over the first two programs the stage was set for Allard’s historic win. Allard started the nighttime portion of the program winning the A Scramble setting him on the pole for the $20,000 to win feature.

At the green flag, Allard took off with Peter Murphy in tow. Murphy dogged Allard in both open track and tight traffic not letting him open too wide an advantage. The lone yellow flag of the race came out for Shane Stewart and Roger Crockett who tangled coming out of turn two while running for third and fourth place.

That opened the door for fast charging Rico Abreu. On the restart, Abreu started pestering Murphy for second late in the event even passed Murphy briefly for second only to give it back when he jumped the cushion in turn four.

At the finish, Allard had opened up a nice lead with Murphy holding off Abreu for the podium finishers.

The finish:

Jonathan Allard, Peter Murphy, Rico Abreu, Travis Rilat, Kyle Hirst, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Jason Meyers, Josh DeWitt, Jesse Whitney, Travis Jacobson, Henry Van Dam, Carson Macedo, Austin Wheatley, Trey Starks, Chad Hillier, Jonathan Jorgenson, Shane Stewart, Roger Crockett, Kevin Smith, Luke Didiuk, Steve Parker, Jayme Barnes


Posted by on Jun 23 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Racing Nation, Sprints & Midgets, WEST. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!