Other Sprint Cars

Clauson Tabbed Non-Winged Driver of the Year

Bryan Clauson, 2012 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series champion (Don Figler Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Bryan Clauson was named the 2012 Driver of the Year by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for the first time.

The United States Auto Club sprint car champion and Indianapolis 500 competitor earned 12 of the 16 first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are Dave Darland, USAC-CRA champion Mike Spencer, Midwest Sprint Car Series and King of Indiana Sprint Series champion Jon Stanbrough and Tracy Hines.

Rounding out the top 10 are Chase Stockon, Damion Gardner, three-time Driver of the Year Levi Jones, Nic Faas and Ryan Bernal.

Clauson’s sprint car owners, Corey Tucker, Tim Clauson, Mike Curb and Cary Agajanian, will receive the 2012 non-winged sprint car Team of the Year award for the first time.

Stockon will receive the Wild Card Award for his exciting non-winged sprint car performances in 2012. Mike and Tim Truex of Loudpedal Productions will receive their first North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll Media Member of the Year honors. Jim O’Connor of the Kokomo Speedway will earn the Promoter of the Year title for the second time.

Nick Drake will receive the 2012 North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll Rookie of the Year award from the voting panel. Joe Devin of DRC Chassis will receive the Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for the fifth time.


Posted by on Jan 12 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!