Other Sprint Cars

Dietrich Is Lincoln All Star

Danny Dietrich won Saturday's All Star sprint car race at Pensylvania's Lincoln Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

Danny Dietrich won Saturday’s All Star sprint car race at Pensylvania’s Lincoln Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. — Danny Dietrich is making it a habit of winning big shows at Lincoln Speedway.

The 2012 Lincoln track champ had a perfect night, setting fast time, winning the dash, and claiming this third win in the last four years in the annual All-Star Circuit of Champions show in the Pigeon Hills Saturday night, starting on the pole and leading every lap.

“It doesn’t get much better than this!” exclaimed Dietrich upon exiting his Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Market/Weikert’s Livestock No. 48 in victory lane, “We have a lot of sponsors here tonight. It’s great to do this for them. It’s gonna be one heck-of-a celebration in the pits.”

“We just get lucky,” said Dietrich of drawing the pole for the feature event, “We come here to win every night, and the last two weeks we’ve had tough luck. I think we’re back on track.”

“I don’t know what happened to Brian (Montieth),” said Dietrich, “He was little better than I was tonight on the cushion. I wasn’t bad, but it was his kind of race track.”

What happened to Montieth, who started fourth, was contact with a lapped car while running second on the frontstretch of lap 14, the only caution of the 30-lap event.

Former track champ Lance Dewease started on the front row and actually ran second every lap of the race except laps 11-13, when he gave way to Montieth. Dewease assumed second for the restart and ran there the rest of the way, holding off Tim Shaffer, Jac Haudenschild, and Jim Siegel, who finished third through fifth.

Siegel moved into the top five when All-Star points leader Dale Blaney dropped to the infield on lap 15.

Dietrich’s win was dominant. He had more than a two-second lead when the mid-race caution flag came out, three second lead by lap 19, and final margin of victory of 2.84 seconds over Dewease.

Phil Walter started on the pole and led every lap of the 20-lap “358” sprint car feature.

The finish:

Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease, Tim Shaffer, Jac Haudenschild, Jim Siegel, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Aaron Ott, Steve Owings, Greg Hodnett, Brent Marks, Alan Krimes, Tyler Ross, Cory Haas, Austin Hogue, Tim Glatfelter, Ryan Smith, Caleb Helms, Adam Wilt, Dale Blaney, Brian Montieth, Ryan Bohlke, Robbie Kendall, Freddie Rahmer, Ryan Wilson.



Posted by on Jun 15 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!