Other Sprint Cars

Four Joining Little 500 Hall Of Fame

ANDERSON, Ind. – Three well-known Little 500 competitors and a race official are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on May 25 as part of Pay Less Little 500 Week.

The Class of 2013 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the Little 500.

From the Historic Era (1949-1975) are Tom Schemmer and the late Al Sweeney. From the Modern Era comes Mac Steele and the late Lloyd Shores.

Schemmer, of Toledo, Ohio, was a chief mechanic who wrenched on several Little 500 entries with Darl Harrison as driver from 1964 to 1975. Was part of three Darl Harrison wins in ’67,’70, and ’75. Schemmer was also instrumental in four top five finishes and one pole (’67) while overseeing Harrison’s Little 500 efforts.

Sweeney, of Chicago, Ill., was an IMCA official at the Little 500 from 1962 to 1971. Sweeney was key in drawing several prominent racers to the event during the IMCA era. Sweeney was inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 1991.

Steele, of Tampa, Fla., is a car owner with thirteen entries from 1985 to 2006. His cars were a part of three top five finishes in the race. He fielded entries for drivers Paul Southwick, John Klausing, Tom Seckman, Stan Butler, Dave Steele, Dude Teate, and Troy DeCaire among others.

Shores, of Indianapolis, Ind., was a prolific chassis builder and designer who built numerous Little 500 entries from 1970’s until his death in 2002. Shores had a significant presence at the Little 500.

Posted by on Apr 29 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!