Other Sprint Cars

Gerster Conquers Owosso Sprinters

Brian Gerster takes the checkered flag Saturday night at Owosso Speedway in Michigan. (Chris Seelman photo)

Brian Gerster takes the checkered flag Saturday night at Owosso Speedway in Michigan. (Chris Seelman photo)

OVID, Mich. — Brian Gerster’s first visit to Owosso Speedway is one he won’t soon forget.

Gerster won the first appearance of the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series at Owosso Speedway Saturday night. Gerster won a thrilling race that went right down to the wire and lapped traffic helped play a part of the outcome. The win was the second MSRXSS victory of the season for Gerster.

USAC Silver Crown point leader Kody Swanson started the night off by setting quick time with a lap of 13.106 seconds around the three-eighths-mile speedway. Swanson bobbled badly on his first lap, and was forced to hustle the car harder on his second lap, to have any chance at a decent qualifying lap.

Ryan Gillenwater stated on the pole of the 50-lap by virtue of fast qualifier Kody Swanson rolling a ten for the inversion. Gillenwater led the first 15 laps before Gerster took command. Gerster’s car was a rocket from the drop of the green and he was able to put his machine anywhere he needed. Once Gerster assumed command, it appeared the race was his in hand. Jimmy McCune worked his way into second position and set sail for Gerster. With less than ten laps remaining, Gerster began to drive a little more aggressive in an attempt to get around lapped cars quicker. Lapped cars became a problem for both drivers with less than five laps remaining. Gerster seemed to dispose of lapped cars quicker than McCune. McCune caught Gerster, but lapped cars foiled his chances of mounting a serious challenge at Gerster. Following Gerster and McCune to the line was Swanson, Jeff Bloom, and David Byrne rounding out the top five.

“I kept trying to look at the board to see who was second and third,” explained Gerster. “Jimmy is always fast at these kinds of race tracks. He’s really good and his family has a good package this year. I knew I had to stay with it because he was running second. I knew he was back there and I thought I heard him a couple of times. I had to be aggressive getting through lapped traffic. I think the last lap or two he got hung up in some of the lapped traffic I got through. It was just enough for us to get by with a win.”

The finish:

Brian Gerster, Jimmy McCune, Kody Swanson, Jeff Bloom, David Byrne, Troy DeCaire, Ryan Litt, Aaron Pierce, Billy Wease, Tyler Underwood, Jim Sheets, Dustin Daggett, Ryan Gillenwater, John Turnbull Jr., Ike Beasley, Tim Cox, Cody Hoover.




Posted by on Jun 22 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!