Other Sprint Cars

Hull Hustles To Tri-State MOWA Score

HAUBSTADT, Ind. — Jerrod Hull became the second winner in as many events for the Midwest Open Wheel Ass’n Sprint Car Series presented by Casey’s General Stores at Tri-State Speedway, Saturday.

The win, and some bad luck for Joey Moughan, allowed Jerrod Hull to extend is point lead over Maughan.

The incident on the backstretch with Hull, sent A.J. Bruns to the pits with a broken car, ending his bid less than a lap into the event for a chance at two wins in a row.

While Bruns and Hull were getting together on the backstretch, Critter Malone spun in turn two collecting Chris Urish, Jordan Kinser and Paul Nienhiser. In all, five cars were knocked out on the opening lap of the event, as none of the aforementioned cars were able to restart the event.

Hull took the lead on the start, over Kody Kinser — who moved to the pole position from inside row three.

As the race moved forward, Joey Moughan moved to second around Kinser to take the second spot and gave chase to Hull, who worked through lapped traffic throughout the middle stages of the event.

When Hull got slowed by lapped traffic, after having lapped up to fifth place, Moughan saw his chance. But, as he Moughan went low into turn one below a lapped car, only to clip a tire and get upside down in turn one. He was done for the night, which left on five cars on the lead lap as the field took the green on the restart with four laps remaining.

On the final restart, Hull again ran away from the field, with just Kody Kinser, Cale Thomas, Jeremy Standridge and Tiffany Wyzard the only other cars on the lead lap.

Standridge would spin on the restart, but kept the car rolling, not bringing out a caution, but he did fall back to fifth spot.

Thomas work on Kinser until the checkered flag, but could not find a way around, settling for third.

The finish:

Jerrod Hull, Kody Kinser, Cale Thomas, Tiffany Wyzard, Jeremy Standridge, Korey Weyant, Trey Datweiler, Chris Babcock, Logan Faucon, Kent Schmidt. John Dines. Vinny Ward, Joey Moughan, Randy Myers, Caleb Wankel, Trent Beckinger, A.J. Bruns, Critter Malone, Paul Nienhiser, Jordan Kinser, Chris Urish.


Posted by on Jun 22 2014 Filed under Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!