Other Sprint Cars

Johnson Named 360 Driver Of The Year

Jason Johnson seen here in victory lane at 81 Speedway, has been named 360 driver of the year. (In the Dirt photo)

Jason Johnson, seen here in victory lane at 81 Speedway, has been named 360 driver of the year. (In the Dirt photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Jason Johnson, of Eunice, La., was voted Driver of the Year by the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for the fifth time.

Johnson, the American Sprint Car Series national tour champion, earned 12 of the 15 first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll. Jason and Bobbi Johnson earned their third “Team of the Year” award as well.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are Johnny Herrera, Shane Stewart, Jeff Swindell and Roger Crockett.

In addition to Jason Johnson, others receiving single first-place votes were Shane Stewart, J.J. Grasso and California Sprint Car Civil War Series champion Sean Becker.

URC competitor Brian Carber of Pennsylvania earned the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll Rookie of the Yea” title in his first full season of winged 360 competition.  Chuck Merril,l of Maxim Chassis, earned the Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for 2013.

In addition, T.J. Buffenbarger of www.tjslideways.com will receive the Media Member of the Year award for the first time. Tracey Clay of the I-30 Speedway in Arkansas earned her fourth Promoter of the Year award, while 2012 Rookie of the Year Christopher Bell will receive the Wild Card Award for his exciting ‘360’ sprint car performances in 2013.


Posted by on Jan 17 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!