Other Sprint Cars

McCarl Is Jacksonville Monster

Terry McCarl won Friday night's Monster Sprint Series feature at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — Terry McCarl found victory lane for the first time in 2011 on Friday night in Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series action at the Jacksonville Speedway. It was the Altoona, Iowa native’s first win since a pair of injuries cost him the majority of the 2010 season. The victory was worth $2,600.

McCarl used a restart on lap 14 to challenge leader Robbie Standridge.

“There was moisture that hadn’t been used all night on the bottom of turn two,” said McCarl. “You couldn’t stay down to hit it by running the low line. I was able to enter high and come back low exiting two.”

The formula proved to be a winning one, as McCarl took the lead for good on lap 16. One final caution came out, when Jim Moughan, Jr.’s nice run up to fifth came to an end when he hit an infield tire.

McCarl pulled away under green to record the win.

Hurley held on to a popular second.

“Normally the track isn’t quite this rough,” he said. “Usually it builds a berm up top, or it is around the bottom. We had a good run though.”

Brian Brown was third ahead of Danny Lasoski and Terry Babb.

The finish:

Terry McCarl, Jimmy Hurley, Brian Brown, Danny Lasoski, Terry Babb, Chris Urish, Jeremy Standridge, Robbie Standridge, Bret Tripplett, Ben Wagoner, Kaley Gharst, Korey Weyant, J.C. Bland, Mike Hess, Jim Moughan, Jr., Donnie Beechler, Joey Moughan, Jerrod Hull.


Posted by on May 21 2011 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!