Other Sprint Cars

Nelson Masters 600 Sprint At Dixie

Shawn Nelson won Saturday's USCS www.rockauto.com 600 Sprint Series feature at Dixie Speedway. (Jacob Seelman Photo)

Shawn Nelson won Saturday’s USCS www.rockauto.com 600 Sprint Series feature at Dixie Speedway. (Jacob Seelman Photo)

WOODSTOCK, Ga. – Dixie Speedway is billed as the Home of the Champions. After Saturday night’s USCS www.rockauto.com 600 Sprint Series feature, Shawn Nelson would agree.

Nelson certainly felt like a champion after he blasted away from the K&N Filters Pole Position and turned back repeated challenges from Florida Mini Sprint Ass’n veteran David Hall to score his first-career USCS-sanctioned micro sprint victory during the 600 Sprint Series portion of the Dixie Sprint Car Nationals.

Nelson had to endure four caution flags en route to the victory, including two on lap three when Chris Openshaw first climbed the wall in turn two and slowed down the backstretch, and then national points leader Sean Hosey spun in turn two on the ensuing restart after hitting the restart cone.

The third caution flew on lap eight when Mike Magic stopped in turn two, but the race’s most serious accident took place on lap 11 when Terry Peters slammed the wall and flipped several times in turn two, drawing a lengthy red flag. Peters was awake and alert after the incident, but was transported to a local hospital as a precautionary measure.

The incident ultimately shortened the race from its scheduled 20-lap distance to 13 laps, forcing a green-white-checkered restart after cleanup efforts were complete. Hall tried to use the high lane of the race track to make a run at Nelson on the final lap but ran out of time, forcing the Casselberry, Fla., native to settle for second.

Home state driver Brandon Taylor finished in the third position after his maiden USCS victory two weeks ago at Duck River Raceway Park and Hosey rebounded from his lap three spin as well as missing practice and the dash due to metal in his oil pan to finish fourth. Defending USCS Southern Lightning region champion Bob Trapino rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Shawn Nelson, David Hall, Brandon Taylor, Sean Hosey, Bob Trapino, Matt McCullough, Dirk Miller, Shane Werner, Sam McCullough, Mike Magic, Bo Barber, Terry Peters, Frankie Peters, Chris Openshaw, Kyle Amerson, Shaun Fitzgerald.

Posted by on Aug 24 2014 Filed under Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!