Other Sprint Cars

Ohio Speedweek On Tap For UNOH All Stars

Dale Blaney (14k) battles Tim Shaffer en route to his 100th All Star sprint car victory earlier this year at Ohio's Attica Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell photo)

Dale Blaney (14k) battles Tim Shaffer en route to his 100th All Star sprint car victory earlier this year at Ohio’s Attica Raceway Park. (Mike Campbell photo)

CAMARGO, Ill. – The 2014 season for the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions has been unique to say the least.

There have been 11 different feature winners over 12 events thus far. And with the 32nd Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek – featuring nine straight nights of racing at eight different tracks in the Buckeye State – ahead, there’s no reason to believe that streak of different winners won’t continue.

It all kicks off Friday on Ohio Caterpillar Night at Attica Raceway Park. It will mark the 103rd appearance of the UNOH All Stars at “Ohio’s Finest Racing” speedplant. Also it’s leg No. 4 of 8 for the Attica Raceway Park / Wayne County Speedway Late Model Challenge Series ($1,500 to win).

The UNOH All Stars paid a visit to Attica in April with four-time series champion Dale Blaney picking up his 100th career All Star victory. Blaney has three wins at Attica in 2014, including one against the World of Outlaws. He has 20 career victories at Attica, 14 of which have been All Star wins.

Other winners in 2014 at Attica include four time All Star champion Tim Shaffer (the defending Ohio Sprint Speedweek champion), defending track champion Craig Mintz and recently Chris Andrews, who scored his first career All Star win at Attica to open Ohio Speedweek in 2013.

Speedweek continues Saturday, June 21 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway on NKTelco Night. No other track in the country has hosted more of the UNOH All Star races than Eldora. The Speedweek event will be the 134th of the UNOH All Stars at the famous half mile.

Last season Jac Haudenschild swept the two UNOH All Star events at Eldora, including the Ohio Sprint Speedweek event. The UMP DIRTcar Modifieds and Eldora Stocks will also be in action Saturday.

On Sunday, June 22, Speedweek moves to Waynesfield Raceway Park near Lima, Ohio. The third-mile bullring has produced some of the most exciting Speedweek shows in recent years. Last year Brad Sweet drove to the Speedweek victory.

The NAPA Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway near Orrville, Ohio, will host the UNOH All Stars on Monday, June 24.

The All Stars paid a visit to one of the original series tracks on May 31 and local driver Lee Jacobs – his great-grandfather built the speedway – recorded his second UNOH All Star win in 2014 – the series’ only repeat winner this season. Last year during the Speedweek visit Oklahoma native Shane Stewart picked up the victory.

Brad Haudenschild has dominated at the track in 2014, scoring four wins including this past Saturday. Broc Martin also has a victory at Wayne County in 2014. The late models and super stocks will also be on the racing card Monday.

Posted by on Jun 17 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!