Latest Headlines

Ohio Speedweek On Tap For UNOH All Stars

The UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions field has a busy nine day stretch of racing ahead. (Joe Secka/JMS Pro Photo)

The UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions field has a busy nine day stretch of racing ahead. (Joe Secka/JMS Pro Photo)

Tuesday, June 24 finds the UNOH All Stars at Sharon Speedway near Hartford, Ohio. Another of the tracks that was part of the first Ohio Sprint Speedweek 32 years ago, the three-eighths-mile oval fell victim to rain during last year’s Speedweek event. Two years ago local driver Brandon Matus scored his first UNOH All Star win.

The TUSA Mod Lites will also be on hand in a Mid-Atlantic regional event.

The track is home to not only current All Star point leader Dale Blaney, but his brother, Dave is part owner of the facility. Dave, a NASCAR Sprint Cup driver, also has an All Star win in 2014.

The UNOH All Stars return to Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe, Ohio, on Wednesday, June 25. It has been a couple years since the All Stars raced at the high-banked bullring. It will be the first of two All Star events at Atomic Speedway as the series comes right back on July 3 for the traditional The Night the Stars Come Out.

Winners in 2014 at Atomic Speedway include Danny Smith (three wins), former track owner Jim Nier (two wins), Nathan Skaggs, Cole Duncan and former track champion Jimmy Stinson (two wins). The street stocks and sport mods will also be in competition.

From there the Ohio Sprint Speedweek travels to “The Home of the All Stars” on Thursday, June 26 for the first of two visits to Fremont Speedway during the nine nights of Speedweek. The All Stars have raced at Fremont Speedway a total of 112 times during the long history of the track.

Earlier this year Caleb Griffith scored his first career All Star win to open a double-header weekend at the track. Australian James McFadden followed with a $10,000 payday for his first ever All Star win as well.

Winners at Fremont thus far in 2014 include Dale Blaney, who has 14 career All Star wins at Fremont and has a total of 20 victories at the track; Christopher Bell, Griffith (two wins), Craig Mintz (two wins) and Brian Lay (two wins).

The 305 sprints and dirt trucks will also be in action on I’m Your Guy Water Proofing Night.

On Friday, June 27 Ohio Sprint Speedweek heads to the high banked quarter-mile of Limaland Motorsports Park, which is operated by the All Star’s title sponsor, the University of Northwestern Ohio.

Last year Haudenschild would score the speedweek win, his second of the week. In 2012 the speedweek event was rained out, but the two prior years (2011 and 2010) saw first time All Star winners in Kyle Sauder and David Gravel.

Several of the track’s tough weekly 360 race teams will give the All Stars a great challenge. Also on the racing card for Elwer Fence Night will be the modifieds.

The 32nd Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek wraps up Saturday, June 28 at Fremont Speedway for the $10,000-to-win finale on Ludwig Propane Night. Last year Dale Blaney continued his dominance of big paying shows at “The Track That Action Built,” taking home the Speedweek finale. It marked his only win during Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 2013.

The 305 sprints and dirt trucks will be on the racing card

Posted by on Jun 17 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!