Other Sprint Cars

Parent Sprints Through The Valley

W. LEBANON, N.Y. — Quebec’s Michael Parent and Massachusetts’s Andy Bachetti shared victory lane at the Lebanon Valley Speedway Saturday night, with Parent celebrating his first ever Empire Super Sprints win and Bachetti basking in the glory of his fourth consecutive DIRT modified victory.

Former ESS champion Steve Poirier ran down polesitter Parent from 12th but had to settle for second in the 25-lap feature, with third-starting Paul Kinney finishing there after dropping back, then catching fire again late in the race.

Parent’s front row companion, Jeff Cook, chased Parent early on but by lap ten was nearly a full straightaway behind, though a lap-15 yellow flag erased the fleet Parent’s advantage and put Cook, Poirier and Jessica Zemken on his tail for the restart.

Poirier shot to second on the green but the yellow came right back out, negating the pass, with Cook then holding second until catching the turn four wall and flipping hard on lap 17. Parent shot away from his fellow Quebecian on the final restart and won convincingly. Chuck Hebing hit the stripe fourth ahead of Matt Tanner, Zemken, Corey Sparks, Patrick Dignault, Jason Barney and Zach Weigand.

“I saw his nose once but I just kept doing what I’d been doing and it worked out,” summed up an elated Parent, who’s been close a number of times before.

“I didn’t need that final restart,” declared Poirier. “The engine didn’t go and it took five laps for it to get going again.”

Bachetti had blasted from 16th to sixth by the time the second yellow flew on lap nine, then took advantage of a restart scramble to move to third for the second try. He shot down Kyle Hoffman on the restart, then threw a big slide job on Denny Soltis as they hit turn three to take command. With Brett Hearn, the only other 2013 winner, involved in the melee and going to the rear, Bachetti cruised easily to the checkers ahead of Hoffman, Donnie Corellis, J.R. Heffner, Keith Flach, Rob Pitcher and Kenny Tremont Jr.

Nick Hilt edged Paul LaRochelle to win the Bubba Tanner Memorial for pro stocks



Posted by on Jun 16 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!