Other Sprint Cars

Smith Powers From 12th For URC Victory

Ed Aitken (7) battles eventual winner Mark Smith during URC sprint car competition Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — Starting 12th, Mark Smith and his Mach 1 Chassis 360 sprint car powered to the front of the pack then a caution flag on lap 19 opened the door of opportunity.

With a double-file restart, Smith took the high lane to pass race leader J.J. Grasso and went on to win the eighth annual Rislone Nationals Friday night at the Williams Grove Speedway.

For Smith, the victory in the 25-lap Rislone Nationals was worth $4,000. In the final five laps, Pat Cannon moved into second with Ryan Bohlke making a late race run to finish third. Making up the top five were Grasso and Kevin Nouse.

For Smith, it was his first URC win of the season and his fourth career win.

A field of 36 358/360 sprints took part in the program.

The finish:

Mark Smith, Pat Cannon, Ryan Bohlke, J.J. Grasso, Kevin Nouse, Josh Weller, Tyler Ross, Davie Franek, Brian Carber, Ed Aikin, Randy West, Ryan Wilson, Jonathan Swanson, Jay Gallaway, Andy Best, Billy Johns, Kramer Williamson, Duane Mausteller, Dan Mazy, Scott Lutz, Chris Arnold, Chad Trout, Aaron Ott, Eric Riggins.


Posted by on Aug 3 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!