Other Sprint Cars

Sprint Hall Of Fame Alters Induction Process

The 2012 induction class for the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame. Beginning next year, the Knoxville, Iowa, Hall of Fame will induct only eight members per year. (Ken Simon photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors has been reviewing the Foundation’s induction rules, and elected to update the induction process to maintain the integrity for inductees.

“Since 1990, when the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame began inducting individuals for their lifetime achievements in sprint car racing, the integrity of our induction process has always been the highest in the motorsports industry. And, our board has been working for months to ensure that moving forward, only the best of the best will continue to be inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame, upholding this tradition,” stated Bob Baker, executive director of the foundation.

“When the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame began enshrining inductees back in 1990, it was necessary to get the ball rolling and induct as many as 20 inductees per year. And for years afterwards, through 2013, we have inducted approximately 12 individuals per year to honor them for their accomplishments in sprint car racing. Beginning in 2014, only eight inductees will be enshrined into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame each year, to maintain the integrity of their accomplishments,” Baker said. “Yes, this does make it harder for an individual to become inducted. But, it is a method to insure that only those at the upper echelon of sprint car racing are rewarded for their dedication to our sport, and guarantees that only the best are enshrined into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame family of inductees in the future.”

Board President Jeff Savage commended the Board for working over many months to review the process and implement the move from 12 to 8 inductees per year for the 25th year of inductions.

“We haven’t changed the two-step process for elections, or the fact that we will have up to 72 National Induction Committee members voting on both nominations and final ballots,” Savage said. “What we voted on was to uphold the integrity of the induction process, and insure that only those who are ‘truly deserving’ become inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

“The Board also weighed the many suggestions and ideas that they had received from within the sprint car racing fraternity and implemented as many of those suggestions and ideas as they thought were practical.”

In the past, the National Induction Committee voters nominated candidates in three categories; driver oriented, vehicle oriented, and event oriented, as well as three eras; modern, vintage, and pioneer. Going forward, voters will elect three drivers, two vehicle oriented individuals and two event oriented individuals from any time period.

The final inductee will be from any category but must have been involved in our sport prior to 1945. Additionally, all inductees must receive a minimum of 25 percent of the National Induction Committee members votes to become inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

“Our current board of directors reviewed our induction process for several meetings and developed the method above where eight individuals will be rewarded for their lifetime commitment to sprint car racing beginning at our 25th annual National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction banquet on Saturday, May 31, 2014 and moving forward,” said Baker. “The work our board accomplished ensures the integrity of our nomination process, and rewards sprint car racing’s highest achievers for their lifetime commitment to our sport.”



Posted by on Jun 19 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!