Other Sprint Cars

Stasa Breaks Through In NCRA Sprints

Jeff Stasa in victory lane Saturday at Longdale Speedway. (NCRA photo)

Jeff Stasa in victory lane Saturday at Longdale Speedway. (NCRA photo)

LONGDALE, Okla. — It was a night of firsts for the National Championship Racing Ass’n as the series’ sprint car tour made their first ever appearance at the new Longdale Speedway and it was Kansas driver Jeff Stasa who earned his first NCRA victory Saturday night.

Joe Wood Jr. and Stasa started on the front row for the twenty lap feature and at the start the caution quickly flew as Kris Miller got sideways entering turns one and two and spun. Jordan Weaver and Tim Crawley had nowhere to go and also came to a stop. Miller and Crawley would restart at the tail of the field while Weaver’s night was done with damage to her No. 92 sprinter.

During the caution, current point leader Jeremy Campbell ducked into the work area and would restart at the tail end of the field. He would make his way back to a ninth place finish.

On the complete restart, fourth starting Danny Wood grabbed the lead by jumping up onto the cushion and would open up a six car length lead over Wood, Jr., Stasa and Zach Blurton. His advantage would stretch to ten car lengths before the final caution of the night fell when the front wing brackets broke on Wood, Jr. No. 03 sprinter heading down the backstretch while running second.

Once racing action resumed the battle for the lead did as well as Wood, who continued to run the top of the half mile clay oval, suddenly had his hands full with Stasa dropping back down to the bottom of the track. Stasa and his Wesmar powered Maxim chassis would drive underneath Wood entering turns one and two and would pull away heading down the backstretch.

Just passed the half way mark, three-time and defending tour champion C.J. Johnson had worked his way up from his tenth starting position and passed Zach Blurton for third. The leader encountered lapped traffic on lap fourteen while Wood would now have his hands full with Johnson. The driver of the No. 45x sprinter would pass Wood for the runner up position with four laps to go and set his sights on the leader.

Stasa’s lead was down to five car lengths as he entered lapped traffic with one lap to go and Johnson would be unable to get any closer allowing Stasa to pick up his first career sprint car victory and become the fourth different feature winner in as many races this season.

“We were committed to run the bottom,” said Stasa. “I knew the track would take rubber and luckily we found it before he (Wood) did. We lost a brake line around the half way mark so we run with no brakes. Luckily the lapped traffic didn’t give us a problem.”

Johnson finished two car lengths behind for second while Wood settled for third. Zach Blurton came home fourth while ninth starting Luke Cranston rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Jeff Stasa, C.J. Johnson, Danny Wood, Zach Blurton, Luke Cranston, Danny Jennings, Tim Crawley, Ray Seemon, Jeremy Campbell, J.D. Johnson, Michelle Decker, Jon Freeman, Ryan Roberts, Ty Williams, Kris Miller, Jake Grieder, Joe Wood Jr., Jordan Waver, Brandon Hahn.



Posted by on May 18 2014 Filed under Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!