Other Sprint Cars

URC Opener Is All Mark Smith

SELINSGROVE, Pa. — Mark Smith made short work of a 31-car field of 360 sprints cars as the Rislone URC Sprint Series opened their 67th season Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Smith led the entire 25-lap distance on the half-mile oval after receiving the pole position from Mike Walter in the “revenge redraw.”

On lap 17, Robbie Stillwaggon took advantage of a caution flag to restart alongside Smith for a double-file restart. At the drop of the green, Smith dominated the restart and quickly opened an eight car length lead over Stillwaggon who started 10th.

Smith took the win driving the Brian Scandle-owned MACH1 sprinter and pocket the $2,500 first place prize. For Smith, it was his first URC win of the season and sixth career URC victory.

Stillwaggon finished second ahead of Ryan Kissinger, Davie Franek and Larry Kelleher.

The finish:

Mark Smith, Robbie Stillwaggon, Ryan Kissinger, Davie Franek, Larry Kelleher, Mike Walter, Derek Locke, Pat Cannon, Randy West, TJ Stutts, Andy Best, Jason Shultz, Mark Bitner, Kevin Darling, Duane Mausteller, Eric Riggins Jr., Josh Weller, Will Eggiman, Dan Mazy, Brian Carber, Curt Michael, Brock Zearfoss, Jason Clauss, Colby Womer.


Posted by on Apr 20 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!