43rd Hulman Classic Set For Friday

Dave Darland, shown at Port Royal Speedway, leads the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series to the Hulman Classic at Terre Haute, Ind., Friday night. (John Dadalt photo)

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — The 43rd running of one of America’s longest-running sprint car traditions unfolds Friday night as the Tony Hulman Classic takes to the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

The race that was rained out in May, opens a two-night AMSOIL National Sprint car weekend continuing with Saturday night’s race at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich.

Dave Darland sits atop the standings, 33 ahead of runner-up Chase Stockon. Darland is a former Tony Hulman Classic champion, but it’s been 20 years since his victory. He’s also had a second, two thirds, a fourth and two fifths in the classic.

Mark Cassella was USAC’s last sprint winner at Lake Odessa, back in 1996. The track was a favorite of Jack Hewitt, a four-time USAC winner there.

Bud Kaeding won last year’s Tony Hulman Classic. Former race winners expected to compete Friday include Chris Windom (2011), Jerry Coons Jr. (2010), Levi Jones (2005, 2008 and 2009), Jon Stanbrough (2002 and 2007), Daron Clayton (2006), Tracy Hines (2001) and Darland.

Bryan Clauson stands third in the latest points, just 34 back of Darland, with Kevin Thomas Jr. fourth, 49 behind the leader and Brady Bacon fifth, 51 back.



Posted by on Jun 19 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!