Hall of Fame Classic Goes Saturday

Bobby Santos III at Lucas Oil Raceway last May. (Phil Rider photo)

CLERMONT, Ind. — Bobby Santos will try to score an unprecedented third consecutive Traxxas USAC Silver Crown victory at Lucas Oil Raceway Saturday in the second USAC Hall of Fame Classic.

Saturday’s event salutes USAC’s 57-year heritage as 12 individuals will be inducted into the USAC Hall of Fame during ceremonies prior to the 100-lap feature event. They include Henry Banks, Tony Bettenhausen, Tom Bigelow, Pancho Carter, Earl Baltes, Jack Hewitt, Johnny Rutherford, Bobby and Al Unser, A.J. Watson, Don White and Bob Wilke.

The opening race of the 2013 Silver Crown series features former Lucas Oil Raceway Silver Crown race winners Santos, East (3), Tracy Hines, Brian Tyler, Kody Swanson and Russ Gamester.

East is the defending series champion, while Hines’ 13 victories in various series leads all USAC drivers at the .686-mile paved oval.

Jason Leffler holds the one-lap LOR track record of 121.667 mph. from 2000, while Mike Bliss set the 100-lap record of 104.306 mph in 2001.

Tyler, East and Levi Jones will each try to give their car owners the all-time lead in terms of career series victories. Tyler pilots a car fielded by Six-R Racing, while East and Jones team up in cars fielded by Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing.

Each have 27 series wins.

In the 37 previous LOR Silver Crown races, 25 drivers have visited victory lane, with only seven scoring multiple wins.


Posted by on May 15 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!