Hoosier Hundred Is Rich In Racing History

1977: Pancho Carter leads all 100 miles of “Silver Anniversary” race. A.J. Foyt misses race due to accident in the semi!

1978: No yellow flags as Billy Engelhart beats “Rookie of the Race” Rich Vogler to the checkered flag!

1979: Bobby Olivero comes from 17th starting position to pass Billy Engelhart on lap 98 and win. Rich Vogler suffers broken leg in flip on lap 15. Billy Puterbaugh suffers broken wrist in separate crash.

1980: A.J. Foyt drops out at 29 laps while running second and Gary Bettenhausen goes on to win.

1981 HULMAN: Steve Kinser leads all 60 laps. Paul Pitzer unhurt after flipping over the wall on lap 18.

1981 HOOSIER: Larry Rice leads wire-to-wire for victory.

1982 HULMAN: Rick Hood gets first Silver Crown victory. Cheryl Glass becomes 
first African-American female driver in series history!

1982 HOOSIER: Chuck Gurney wins from the pole when Rich Vogler’s transmission fails on lap 92.

1983 HULMAN: Chuck Gurney passes pole starter Billy Vukovich on lap six and wins. Jerry Weeks and Johnny Coogan escape injury in a preliminary race flip.

1983 HOOSIER: Chuck Gurney passes Ken Schrader on lap 10 and wins. Rich Vogler flips in turn one on lap five.

Posted by on May 16 2013 Filed under Featured, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!