Hoosier Hundred Is Rich In Racing History

1984 HULMAN: Rain after 33 miles leaves George Snider as the race winner. Ronnie Burke and Terry Kawell escape injury in flips.

1984 HOOSIER: Steve Chassey leads wire-to-wire. Larry Martin suffers skull fracture in flip on lap 89.

1985 HULMAN: Sheldon Kinser passes Joe Saldana on lap 48 and wins.

1985 HOOSIER: Gary Bettenhausen loses oil pressure after 26 laps and Sheldon Kinser wins again.

1986 HULMAN: Jack Hewitt recovers from an early-race spin to pass Bill Engelhart on lap 26 and win!

1986 HOOSIER: Jack Hewitt comes from fourth to take lead at start and lead wire-to-wire. Johnny Parsons flips on lap two. Andy Hillenburg suffers broken shoulder blade in spectacular crash with Warren Mockler, who suffers minor burns on hands.

1987 HULMAN: Jeff Swindell subs for Gary Bettenhausen and wins. Robby Unser suffers a broken leg in a crash during a preliminary race.

1987 HOOSIER: Kenny Jacobs passes Dave Blaney on lap 86 to win. Gary Irvin and George Snider suffer minor injuries in flips.

1988 HULMAN: Chuck Gurney and teammate Kenny Jacobs finish 1-2.

1988 HOOSIER: Jack Hewitt leads all 100 laps to win. Ray Joe Fager and Jerry Nemire execute a “double flip” on lap 78.

1989 HULMAN: Rich Vogler passes Johnny Parsons on lap 16 and goes on to win. Numerous flips interrupt the event but no serious injuries.

1989 HOOSIER: Jack Hewitt scores third victory, leading the last 46 miles. Mark Alderson escaped serious injury in a first-lap flip. Chuck Gurney refused to compete, complaining about “poor visibility.”

Posted by on May 16 2013 Filed under Featured, Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!