Johnson Can’t Stop Ziehl In New Mexico

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – Rick Ziehl passed R.J. Johnson on the final lap to win Saturday’s USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series feature at Southern New Mexico Speedway.

Johnson led the opening 20 rounds before Ziehl took over the lead on lap 21. Johnson stayed with Ziehl and reclaimed the lead on lap 25.

Ziehl stayed close and stalked Johnson over the final five laps, finally making his move on the final lap to retake the lead and claim the victory at the high banked clay oval.

Johnson was second, followed by Charles Davis Jr., Andy Reinbold and Josh Hodges.

The finish:

Rick Ziehl, R.J. Johnson, Charles Davis Jr., Andy Reinbold, Josh Hodges, Mike Martin, Ronnie Clark, Brian Hosford, Kyle McCutcheon, James Aragon, Mike Boneau, Michael Curtis, Jesse Baker, Ronnie Smith, Steven Harms, Don Grable, Matt Ziehl, Mike Wells, Shon Deskins, Chris Bonneau, Derek DeMartino, David Burns.

Posted by on Jul 21 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!