Johnson Scores Another Southwest Triumph

CASA GRANDE, Ariz. – R.J. Johnson raced to his ninth USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series triumph of 2013 on Saturday night at Central Arizona Raceway.

Josh Pelkey looked to be on his way to victory after grabbing the early lead and pulling away from the field. But on lap 26 of the 30-lap feature Pelkey had issues, giving the lead to Charles Davis Jr.

Davis didn’t stay out front long as Johnson raced by to take the lead on lap 27. He led the remaining laps to score the victory.

Davis finished second, followed by Shon Deskins, Aaron Reutzel and Mike Martin.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Charles Davis Jr., Shon Deskins, Aaron Reutzel, Mike Martin, Mike Bonneau, Matt Lundy, Andy Reinbold, Ronnie Clark, Michael Curtis, Jordan Stetson, Bruce St. James, Tom Lee, Steven Harms, Josh Pelkey, Tye Mihocko, Chris Bonneau, Kyle Danielson, James Aragon, Brian Hosford, Jody Wirth.

Posted by on Sep 15 2013 Filed under Sprints & Midgets, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!