Three Men, One USAC Sprint Car Title

Dave Darland (11) chases eventual winner Bryan Clauson during sprint car feature action at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway in August. Both men are in the hunt for the USAC National sprint-car crown. (Gordon Gill Photo)

PERRIS, Calif. – USAC AMSOL National Sprint Car title hopefuls Bryan Clauson, Dave Darland and Jon Stanbrough will square off this weekend in a fight for the series title during the 17th annual Budweiser Oval Nationals at Perris Auto Speedway.

Mike Spencer’s unprecedented fifth consecutive AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series crown is an anti-climax with his unsurmountable lead over Nic Faas going into the Friday-Saturday events at the PAS, but the three-way National point race is another issue.

Clauson’s new lead over Darland stands at just seven points, while Stanbrough is 73 in arrears, with ample points available for each.

Clauson posted a second and a seventh in last weekend’s “Arizona Hall of Fame” features at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Ariz., while Darland won Friday’s 30-lapper. Darland’s Saturday cost him the point lead as he struggled through an early-lead tangle and a late-race spin to finish 17th. Stanbrough’s two Peoria outings produced a 13th and a fifth.

Darland passed Kevin Thomas, Jr. on lap 18 and led the final 13 laps of Friday’s race in his Jam-It-In Storage/Hoosier Tire Maxim/Claxton. Clauson took second ahead of Thomas, Spencer and Robert Ballou.

Mike Martin upset the series regulars Saturday, leading all 30 laps in his Ultimate Off-Road/Advanced Racing Suspension Maxim/Shaver. Ballou was second, with Damion Gardner, Hunter Schuerenberg and Stanbrough rounding out the top-five.

Gardner, who owns more USAC/CRA Perris victories than anybody else, is the two-time Budweiser Oval Nationals defending champion. He joins Darland and Cory Kruseman in the search to tie Bud Kaeding as the only “three-time event champion.

Other former Budwesier Oval Nationals champs include Jimmy Sills, Rip Williams, Rodney Argo, Rickie Gaunt, Tony Jones, Chris Windom and the late Jesse Hockett.

Spencer, with back-to-back feature wins this weekend, would tie Gardner as the all-time USAC/CRA Perris victory leader. Gardner has 25 wins and Spencer 23.

Posted by on Oct 30 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!