USAC Drivers Prep For Eastern Storm

USAC LogoSPEEDWAY, Ind. – The eighth Eastern Storm Presented by RW and Partners hits Pennsylvania and New Jersey June 3-8 as five tracks host the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars.

Thanks to the generous continuing “Eastern Storm” support of RW Motorsports of Lederach, Pa. and its participating partners, drivers will compete for point fund bonuses in addition to their earned prize winnings. The champion’s bonus will be $750, with $500 targeted for the runner-up, $350 for third, $250 for fourth and $150 for fifth. Contributing vendors include Detweiler Hershey, Pecora Corporation, Pennoni Associates, Inc., Schaedler Yesco Distribution, Edwards M. Roberts, CPA & Associates, P.C. and Award Printing and Copy Center. These incentives are in addition to the $6,000-to-win prize for victory at each of the five events.

The series debuts on Tuesday night, June 3, with the “Jesse Hockett Classic” at Grandview Speedway in Bechtelsville, Penn. Race two unfolds at Lincoln Speedway in New Oxford, Pa. Wednesday June 4 and Thursday night’s June 5 race is at New Egypt Speedway in New Jersey. The series concludes with Saturday races June 7 at Port Royal (Pa.) Speedway and a Sunday race June 8 at Susquehanna Speedway Park in Newberrytown, Penn.

Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Ind. is the defending “Eastern Storm” Champ (2012 and 2013) and sits third in the latest National standings, 34 behind leader Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Okla. Second-ranking Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind. is 29 behind the leader and is the only driver to repeat as a winner this season, scoring three wins, including the most recent “Tony Hulman Classic” at Terre Haute, Ind. May 21.

Levi Jones will not be competing as a driver but has a record six “”Eastern Storm” wins and three titles (2007, 2010 & 2011). Cole Whitt won three times on his way to the 2008 and 2009 championships and has moved on to NASCAR competition.

Clauson won the 2012 race at Grandview but Daron Clayton was the winner last year. Grandview, of the nine tracks which have hosted the “Eastern Storm” series, leads all others, hosting its seventh race during this year’s campaign.

One driver still seeking his initial “Eastern Storm” victory is fourth-ranking Tracy Hines. He trails Bacon by 50 points, with 74 points available at each venue.

Drivers battling for USAC’s AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car “rookie of the year” honors include Jarett Andretti and Shane Cockrum, who will be visiting all five tracks in their first “Eastern Storm” appearance.

Darland’s Terre Haute win was his 50th in USAC Sprint Car competition, leaving him just two short of Tom Bigelow’s all-time leading total of 52. Hines has 46 wins, which includes a win this year at Gas City, Ind. Bacon, Clauson, Justin Grant, Clayton and Hunter Schuerenberg have also tasted victory this year.

Posted by on Jun 2 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, USAC. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!