World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

Schatz Pockets $150,000 As Outlaw Champ

Donny Schatz took home $150,000 for winning the 2012 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series championship. (Dave Dalesandro/MSI Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Donny Schatz was crowned the 2012 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion at the season-ending banquet Sunday evening at the Great Wolf Lodge Convention Center.

He received a check for the $150,000-to-win championship – his fifth since 2006 – at the event, which honored the 11 full-time Outlaws as well as the marketing partners for the World of Outlaws.

“The fact that we ran second a lot and third a lot, and that’s what wins championships – is what you do on the nights when you can’t win,” Schatz said. “This ranks up there as one of the hardest fought ones. We had some of the lowest lows and the highest highs.”

Craig Dollansky finished second in the standings, which was his best result since 2006. Sammy Swindell, who led the series with 13 feature victories, placed third and Joey Saldana ended fourth – his eighth top-five finish since 2002. Steve Kinser, who is a 20-time champion and the winningest driver in the series, garnered his unprecedented 31st top-five result.

Kraig Kinser placed sixth, Cody Darrah seventh, Kerry Madsen eighth, Lucas Wolfe ninth, Chad Kemenah 10th and Bill Rose was 11th in the final standings.

The 2013 season kicks off with the 42nd annual UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment on Feb. 15 at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla.

Posted by on Nov 5 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!