World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

Schatz & Stewart Share Nationals Front Row

Shane Stewart (2) and Mark Dobmeier are both locked into Saturday night's Knoxville Nationals feature. (Mark Funderburk photo)

Shane Stewart (2) and Mark Dobmeier are both locked into Saturday night’s Knoxville Nationals feature. (Mark Funderburk photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Seven-time Knoxville Nationals winner Donny Schatz will start on the pole for Saturday night’s 54th annual FVP Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville Raceway.

Schatz was the second fastest qualifier, won his heat race and finished fourth in Friday night’s feature to be the top point earner for the two nights of qualifying action, edging Shane Stewart, who won Friday’s feature, by a single point. Stewart will start outside the front row for the 50-lap $150,000-to-win event.

Thursday’s top point man Kerry Madsen and Thursday feature winner Brian Brown will share row two.

Paul McMahan and Terry McCarl will be in row three.

Filling out the 20 drivers locked into Saturday’s A main are Craig Dollansky, Justin Henderson, Kraig Kinser, David Gravel, Mark Dobmeier, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Joey Saldana, Bryan Clauson, Sammy Swindell, Ryan Bunton, Daryn Pittman, Kody Darrah, Stevie Smith and Tim Shaffer.

Brooke Tatnell will start on the front row for the B main.

The top 50 drivers in points have been locked into the A, B and C main for Saturday with the remainder of the field running Saturday’s non-qualifier’s program that begins at 11 a.m. The afternoon session will conclude with the 21st annual SPEED SPORT World Challenge.

Posted by on Aug 9 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!