World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

WoO Rookie Rules Get Overhaul

Cody Darrah won the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year award with the World of Outlaws in 2011. There was no winner in 2012. (Julia Johnson photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series announced a change to the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award Presented by ButlerBuilt.

Drivers will not have to compete in every event for eligibility, which will be based on several factors. A rookie will be categorized as a driver who has never completed a full season with the series and who has not won five or more features during his or her career.

At the start of each season, drivers must declare their intent – with a maximum of three attempts, which will be endorsed by a seven-person panel by either the 15th race of the season or April 15.

“We are adapting the selection process, recognizing the challenges participants face on the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series,” World Racing Group CEO Brian Carter said. “While it doesn’t require a full commitment, the driver has to compete in a substantial number of events.”

The Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Presented by ButlerBuilt standings will require participation in at least 50 percent of the races scheduled and will be based on average feature finish.

“I think this will encourage younger drivers to hit the road with the series, which benefits the drivers, teams, series and the fans of the sport,” World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Director Carlton Reimers said.

Former recipients of the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award are: Cody Darrah (2011), Ben Gregg (2010), Brian Ellenberger (2009), Lucas Wolfe (2008), Kerry Madsen (2007), Chad Kemenah (2006), Shane Stewart (2005), Kraig Kinser (2004), Jason Sides (2003), Jeff Shepard (2001), Danny Wood (2000), Tim Shaffer (1999), Dale Blaney (1998), Donny Schatz (1997), Joey Saldana (1996), Randy Hannagan (1995), Sid Blandford (1994), Greg Hodnett (1993), Aaron Berryhill (1992), Jim Carr (1991), Stevie Smith (1990), Joe Gaerte (1989), Andy Hillenburg (1988), Cris Eash (1987), Johnny Herrera (1986), Mark Kinser and Greg Wooley (1984), Brad Doty (1982), Jeff Swindell (1981), Bobby Davis Jr. (1980) and Tim Green (1979).



Posted by on Jan 21 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Sprints & Midgets, Top Stories, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!