Milka Duno Claims First ARCA Pole

TALLADEGA, Ala. – Milka Duno became the first female ARCA Racing Series driver since 1988 to win the pole at Talladega Superspeedway on Thursday.

Duno had the second-fastest time in the Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell, but when the time of Venturini Motorsports teammate John Wes Townley was disallowed following post-qualifying inspection Duno was announced as the pole winner.

“This is fantastic,” Duno said following qualifying. “We have been trying, trying, trying for the pole ever since Daytona. All day, I made my crew chief (Kevin Caldwell) crazy, saying ‘what do we need to do?’”

The times recorded by four drivers – Townley, Bobby Gerhart, Korbin Forrister and Mark Thompson – were disallowed. Each of those drivers will start at the rear of the field in Friday’s International Motorsports Hall of Fame 250. The race will begin at 4 p.m. (CST) and will be broadcast live on SPEED.

Duno is the fourth female to win an ARCA pole award, including Patty Moise, Shawna Robinson and Erin Crocker. Moise is the only other female pole winner at Talladega, claiming two poles at the 2.66-mile superspeedway in 1988.

The rest of the top five in qualifying included Mason Mingus, Grant Enfinger, Justin Boston and Caleb Armstrong.

No female driver has won in the ARCA Racing Series in its 61 year history.

Posted by on May 2 2013 Filed under ARCA, Latest Headlines, Stock Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!