Asphalt Modifieds

Lichty Opens ISMA Season In Style

Lichty was able to drive away, but admitted later to not really knowing what condition his car was in before the green flag flew again after the incident.

“I thought we bent the torsion bar to be honest with you,” added LIchty of the incident that could’ve spelled disaster. “I kind of knew after the red flag (that flew after the incident on lap 16) that we weren’t going to get into heavy lapped traffic again. I just set (Summers) up on the outside and it worked.”

Lichty took the lead from Summers on lap 22. Summers was able to hang on to the second position over Perley at the checkered flag.

“It’s tough in these things with no mirrors and no radios,” said Summers of his battle with Lichty for the lead. “Once (Lichty) got his wheel in there, I didn’t want to wreck us so we had to just go hard, side by side. In lapped traffic I was able to catch back up and thought I may have a shot, but he drove a heck of a race. He always does.”

Summers wasn’t the only one impressed with the recent strength of Lichty at Oswego Speedway. Perley, a six-time ISMA champion, feels the Oswego torch is being passed to Lichty.

“I think Mike Lichty is the new man to beat here,” said Perley. “He’s been running really consistent here.”

Perley started in the fifth spot and thought from the start he may be in trouble.

“I was sideways through (turns) one and two actually on the first lap. And the next lap I did it again. And I’m thinking, ‘Oh this is going to be a long race. Top three is top three. We had a good enough car to run with them. We’ve got some things to work on but I’m happy with it.”

Moe Lilje and Mark Sammut rounded out the top five in the Oswego 50-lap ISMA opener. Alison Cumens, Justin Belfiore, Eddie Witkum, Jr., Dave Shullick, Jr. and Ben Seitz completed the top 10.

The finish:

Mike Lichty, Rob Summers, Chris Perley, Moe Lilje, Mark Sammut, Alison Cumens, Justin Belfiore, Eddie Witkum Jr., Dave Shullick Jr., Ben Seitz, Jeff Locke, Mike Keeler, Ryan Gath, Ryan Coniam, Jon McKennedy, Bobby Magner, Craig Rayvals, Lou LeVea Jr., John Gambuti, Dan Bowes, Dan Connors Jr., Brandon Bellinger, Eric Lewis, Lou Cicconi.

Posted by on Jun 8 2014 Filed under Asphalt Modifieds, Latest Headlines, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Stock Cars, Top Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!