Other Stock Cars

Drivers Prepare For Oxford 250

Jay Fogleman will be in the field for the Oxford 250 on July 20. (Oxford Plains Speedway photo)

Jay Fogleman will be in the field for the Oxford 250 on July 20. (Oxford Plains Speedway photo)

OXFORD, Maine – The Oxford 250 on July 20 is quickly approaching, and the excitement and buzz about the event is at an all-time high.

This year’s edition will feature a strong contingent from the PASS South Series as several teams will head north to try and capture the Oxford 250 winner’s trophy. Leading the way will be Preston Peltier from Concord, N.C. Peltier has numerous PASS South victories, and is always a threat to win the big events.

Tyler Dippel from Walkill, N.Y. has picked up victories in 2014 down south and he is ready for the challenge. The father and son team of Jay and Tate Fogleman will be returning to the Oxford 250 for the second consecutive year, with Jay Fogleman vowing to be a contender after last year’s podium finish. Recent PASS South winner Daniel Hemric has thrown his hat into the ring, as well as Derek Kneeland, and don’t forget two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup winner, Steve Park will be aboard the potent Dickie Woodman entry.

The Canadian contingent will be lead by Karl Allard from St. Felicien, Quebec. Allard is always a contender when he enters a race at OPS. Fellow Canadians Kevin Roberge and Matt Matheson are expected to compete as well.

Travis Benjamin will be out to make it two Oxford 250 wins in a row, as he is the favorite heading into the race. Johnny Clark has rebounded nicely in 2014, and now that Joey Doiron has picked up his first win of the season, he too will be a good bet to put on a competitive show.

One driver that can never be counted out is Mike Rowe as he’ll be looking for his unprecedented fourth Oxford 250 winner’s trophy. Rowe has also had a solid PASS North season. The winningest driver in 2014 on the PASS Series, DJ Shaw will bring the potent #60 with high hopes of collecting his first 250 win.

Other contenders include Ben Rowe and recent ARCA winner and JR Motorsports driver Austin Theriault.

Posted by on Jul 7 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Stock Cars, Stock Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!