Latest Headlines

Hirschman Masters Shangri-La II

Hirschman had his work cut out for him with his challenge to Leaty, but wrestled third away from Leaty on lap 38. The second caution of the event came out on lap 41 when Dan Kurzejewski spun in turn four.

Four cars pitted for a tire change during the caution, including Ebersole who had worked his way back to fifteenth. Lap 43 saw Hirschman bypass DeFebo for second and the challenge for the lead began. It took 14 laps for Hirschman to take over the top spot. Zacharias started to lose ground to Hirschman and was running third, behind Leaty, when the third and final caution came out when T.J. Zacharias spun coming off of turn four.

By the time this last caution flew, Ebersole had worked his way up to fifth after restarting 19th on lap 41. When the green flew for the final time, Jimmy Zacharias began losing ground and had sparks flying out from under the car. He pitted with a flat right rear tire on lap sixty eight and finished 18th.

Hirschman collected his third win at Shangri-La II, holding off Mike Leaty. Daren Scherer restarted third, and had his hands full with Ebersole challenging all the way to the checkers. Scherer finished third, Ebersole was fourth and Tommy Cloce finished fifth.

Charlie Sharpsteen survived a hard drive in the Pudgies Pizza Street Stocks to claim his second Shangri-La II win. Scott Nurmi was the late-model winner and Gene Purvis took home the four-cylinder stock feature.

Posted by on May 20 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Other Stock Cars, Stock Cars. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!