Touring Late Models

Baillargeon Controls Hudson Hugger 100

Bobby Baillargeon crosses the finish line to win Sunday's Granite State Pro Stock Series event at Hudson Int'l Speedway in New Hampshire. (Eric Lafleche Photo)

Bobby Baillargeon crosses the finish line to win Sunday’s Granite State Pro Stock Series event at Hudson Int’l Speedway in New Hampshire. (Eric Lafleche Photo)

HUDSON, N.H. – Bobby Baillargeon led all but one lap on his way to his second consecutive Granite State Pro Stock Sereis Hudson Hugger 100 win at Hudson Int’l Speedway on Sunday.

Derek Griffith and Baillargeon brought the 21-car field to the green and the pair raced wheel to wheel for the first few laps, swapping the lead back briefly before Baillargeon was able to close the door for the top spot. Barry Gray, Jimmy Renfrew and Mike O’Sullivan rounded out the top five during the opening laps.

The first caution came out on the 21st circuit when Eric Sands spun in the fourth corner. Austin Brehio made slight contact and went to the pits for repairs. It was three laps later when the second yellow flew when points leader Jeremy Davis, Jake Vanada and Mike O’Sullivan got together in turn three.

Once back under way, Baillargeon set sail at the top of the field, opening up a few car length advantage over Griffith, but the action behind the leaders was hot. Barry Gray continued to run third until just shy of the halfway point before starting to lose the handles. Frahm and Renfrew slid by on the 42nd lap.

At the halfway point, the top five remained the same, but the man on the move was Wayne Helliwell Jr. He started in the final starting position, and had moved into the top eight. By lap 75, the defending ACT champion moved into fifth. By this point, Frahm had closed in on the leader and started to put heavy pressure on Baillargeon, almost getting underneath him before the caution came out on lap 79 when Tom O’Sullivan spun in turn two.

The field struggled to get through lap 79, with three restarts on that lap with a few spins on the restarts. Once through that, Griffith slid under Frahm for second, and was able to keep him behind. Heliwell fell out with mechanical problems on lap 84.

Over the final laps, Griffith tried to keep up with the leader, but there was no denying Baillargeon on his second win.

Frahm wound up third, followed by Mike Parks and Jay Sands.

Posted by on Aug 26 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Top Stories, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!